Discovery

The vastness of South Africa offers extremely varied landscapes recalling the history of various ethnic groups whose cultural remains are still alive. Between mountains, beaches, deserts and cities, the excursions and activities do not miss. Successive colonisations of the British and the Dutch brought a cultural wealth to the various areas. This diversity is represented through the 11 official languages spoken by a crossed population who will tell you his history with a lot emotion.

Identity

There is a wild South Africa where fauna and flora express themselves in all their splendour. You will observe it through safaris out of the ordinary, in natural reserves like the Kruger Park, Namakwa or National Mapungubwe Park. There is also a South Africa where the ancestral ethnic groups and traditions persist and whose particular architecture will charm you. Finally there is a modern South Africa whose dynamism can be felt in the big cities like Cape Town, Pretoria, Johannesburg or Durban. You will find there an impressive cultural wealth which can be found in many museums but also expressed itself through street art, clubs of jazz and a modern architecture which mixes style of colonial time with Wraps-Dutch, or Art-Déco.

Located at the extreme south of the African continent, South Africa is the ideal destination for those who want to recall the history of Humanity, to appreciate fabulous landscapes and to discover numerous species of plants and animals. South Africa is also a dream destination for big thrills enthusiasts and the sportsmen of any kind who wish to dive with the sharks or to hike. It is also an interesting destination from a astronomical point of view, particularly for wine tastings, and to enjoy high quality seafood very tasty meats.

Culture & Traditions

THE BRAAI

Braai which means “barbecue” is a paramount element for the inhabitants of South Africa. Each dwelling has its clean braai. Much more than one object, the braai indicates also the event of gathering around a barbecue. Most South-African dishes are cooked with the braai.

ETHNIC HABITS

In the Zulu group for example, the Zulu language is still the main spoken language is one of the official languages of the country. The songs and dances of the Zulus are also very important because they are part of the practice of their religion. Xhosa are known for their red clothing along with facial paintings with red clay. Ndebele match their outfits with the geometrical paintings featured on their houses. For that purpose, they use many multicoloured pearls. The Swazis wear skins and furs and decorate them with garlands, pearl necklaces and bright colours pompoms.

THE WINE ROAD

South Africa is one of the 10 largest wine producing countries in the world. The area of the wines, also called Boland (which means “high ground”), is the most famous of the country and extends on a perimeter including Paarl, Stellenbosch and Franshoek, located at only a few tens of kilometres from Cape Town. You cannot miss the wine tastings in the various domains whose international reputation is already proven.

GASTRONOMY

The South-African traditional kitchen reflects the influence of all the cultures having migrated in the country. We can find a mixture of Dutch, British, French, African, Malayan and Indian kitchen. In general, the South-Africans are big fans of barbecues, called  Braai in the Afrikaner language. Each area has its speciality. 

Essential

Because of the vastness of its territory, South Africa has many different climates. The area of the Cape benefits from a Mediterranean climate between September and April and a moderate climate between May and August. The south-east area has a wet subtropical climate, the area of north a tropical climate and finally the Atlantic coast has a desert-like climate.

28° SUMMER / 15° WINTER
The South African rand
+1
ENGLISH / various ethnic languages
Pretoria
Biryani

Form your trip

The stages

A travel in South Africa is a surprising experience on many levels. Bathed between the Atlantic Ocean and the Indian Ocean, the country enjoys a single geographical location. The striking aspect of South Africa when once starts looking at travelling there, is the infinite diversity of this ground- from savannas to steppes – from mountains to deserts and from animal parks to paradisiacal beaches. This natural mosaic echoes particularly well in the human diversity populating it. A travel in South Africa is an experience of contrast: between the Western big cities of the Cape or Johannesburg, their townships and the timeless Zulu villages scattered through the country.

La découverte

L’immensité de l’Afrique du Sud offre des paysages extrêmement variés retraçant l’histoire de différentes ethnies dont certains vestiges culturels perdurent. Entre montagnes, plages, déserts et villes, les excursions et activités ne manquent pas. Les colonisations successives des Britanniques et des Hollandais ont apporté une richesse culturelle aux différentes régions. Cette richesse se ressent à travers les 11 langues officielles parlées par une population métissée qui vous racontera son histoire avec beaucoup d’émotions.

Identité

Il existe une Afrique du Sud sauvage où la faune et la flore s’expriment dans toute leur splendeur. Vous l’observerez à travers des safaris hors du commun dans des réserves naturelles comme le Parc Kruger, le Namakwa ou encore le Mapungubwe National Park. Il existe aussi une Afrique du Sud où les ethnies et les traditions ancestrales persistent et dont l’architecture particulière ravira vos excursions. Il existe enfin une Afrique du Sud moderne dont le dynamisme se ressent dans les grandes villes comme Cape Town, Pretoria, Johannesburg ou encore Durban. Vous y trouverez une richesse culturelle impressionnante qui s’exprime dans de nombreux musées mais aussi à travers du street art, des clubs de jazz et une architecture moderne qui côtoie un style de l’époque coloniale avec le Cape-Dutch, ou encore Art-Déco.

Situé à l’extrême sud du continent africain, l’Afrique du Sud est la destination idéale pour ceux qui veulent retracer l’histoire de l’Humanité, apprécier des paysages fabuleux et découvrir de nombreuses espèces de plantes et d’animaux. L’Afrique du Sud est également une destination de rêve pour les amateurs de sensations fortes et les sportifs en tout genre qui souhaitent plonger au milieu des requins ou faire des randonnées. C’est également une destination intéressante d’un point de vue gastronomique avec notamment des dégustations de vins, des produits de la mer de grande qualité et des viandes très savoureuses. 

Culture & Traditions

LE BRAAI

Le Braai qui signifie « barbecue » est un élément primordial pour les habitants de l’Afrique du sud. Chaque habitation possède son propre braai. Bien plus qu’un objet, le braai désigne aussi les évènement de regroupements autour d’un barbecue. La plupart des plats sud-africains sont cuits au braai.

COUTUMES ETHNIQUES

Chez les Zoulous par exemple, la langue zoulou est encore majoritairement parlée et fait partie des langues officielles du pays. Les chants et danses des Zoulous sont également très importants car ils font partie de la pratique de leur religion. Les Xhosa sont connus pour leurs vêtements rouges associés à des peintures faciales avec de l’argile rouge. Les Ndebele accordent leurs tenues avec les peintures géométriques présentes sur leurs maisons. Ils utilisent pour cela de nombreuses perles multicolores. Les Swazi s’habillent avec des peaux et fourrures et les agrémentent avec des guirlandes, colliers de perles et pompons de couleurs vives.

LA ROUTE DU VIN

L’Afrique du Sud fait partie des 10 plus gros pays producteurs de vin au monde. La région des vins, aussi appelée Boland (qui signifie « terre haute »), est la plus réputée du pays et s’étend sur un périmètre comprenant Paarl, Stellenbosch et Franshoek, à seulement quelques dizaines de kilomètres de Cape Town. Vous ne manquerez pas de faire des dégustations dans les différents domaines dont la réputation internationale n’est plus à faire.

 

 

 

 

LA GASTRONOMIE

La cuisine traditionnelle sud-africaine reflète l’influence de toutes les cultures ayant immigré dans le pays. Ainsi on y retrouve un mélange de cuisine hollandaise, britannique, française, africaine, malaise et indienne. De manière générale, les Sud-Africains sont de grands amateurs de barbecues, connus sous le nom de Braai dans la langue des Afrikaners. Chaque région a sa spécialité.

 

Les indispensables

De part l'immensité du territoire, l'Afrique du Sud possède à lui seul différents climats. La région du Cap profite d'un climat méditérranéen entre septembre et avril et d'un climat tempéré entre mai et août. La région du sud-est quant à elle possède un climat subtropical humide, la région du nord un climat tropical et enfin la côte atlantique, elle possède un climat désertique. 

28° ÉTÉ / 15° HIVER
Le rand Sud-Africain
+1
Anglais / diverses langues ethniques
Prétoria
Biryani

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes

Un voyage en Afrique du Sud est une expérience surprenante à bien des niveaux. Baigné entre l'Océan Atlantique et l'Océan Indien, le pays jouit d'une situation géographique unique. Lors d'un voyage ou d'un safari en Afrique du Sud, on est d'abord frappé par l'infinie diversité de cette terre de savanes, de steppes, de montagnes, de déserts, de parcs animaliers et de plages paradisiaques. Cette mosaïque naturelle trouve un écho particulier dans la diversité des hommes qui la peuplent. Entre les grandes villes occidentales du Cap, de Johannesburg, leurs townships et les villages zoulous intemporels que l'on retrouve éparpillés aux quatre coins du pays, un voyage en Afrique du Sud c'est avant tout l'expérience du contraste.