Discovery

Malawi is one of the smallest countries of Africa with a surface of 72,000 km2. This destination offers relaxation by the Lake Malawi or safaris in an amazing landscape. The national parks are known to be home to many elephants, antelopes, zebras, warthogs, mooses, leopards and jackals. You will also find there numerous species of birds, and more than 500 species of fish in the Lake Malawi. This country is not very visited by tourists and offers the opportunity to enjoy a wild and unspoilt environment as well as rich traditional culture. Malawi is also known for its people being the warmest and most welcoming in Africa.

Identity

Malawi is a country of Southern Africa located between the Mozambique, Zambia and Tanzania. Not very touristic, this country abounds in wonders to discover. Between safaris, excursions and relaxation, this country will charm all the travellers. Approximately 3,000 years ago, the first first human beings arrived in Malawi. At that time, tribes of hunters-gatherers were the main tribes of the country. In the course of time the Bantu people slowly took possession of the country to create Maravi kingdom in the 15th century.

Particularly famous for its lake, Malawi is both a seaside and a cultural destination. However sports lovers will enjoy a wide range of activities such as trekking, kayaking, climbing, or mountain biking.

Culture & Traditions

WILDLIFE

Malawi is renowned for its many national parks where you will be able to admire many wild animals including the famous “Big Five”. The different landscapes allow for any type of safaris: by foot, by 4X4, by boat or by horse.

THE LAKE MALAWI

The Lake Malawi is the third biggest lake of Africa and is shared by three countries: Malawi, Mozambique and Tanzania. This lake is known throughout the world for its watery diversity. Several hundreds of endemic species live there. The activities are numerous at the Lake Malawi; kayaking, going jet ski, boating, snorkelling, sailing or simply relaxing on the white sand beaches.

CULTURE OF THE TEA

Introduced in the 1880 during English colonization, the tea became the second crop for export in Malawi. Don’t hesitate to taste the local tea as and meet the tea pickers. The plantations are mainly grouped around the Mulanje Mount, in the south of the country.

HIKING

Malawi is a privileged destination for the trekking amateurs. Its wild and green landscapes offer hikers the opportunity to walk around an unspoilt environment. Start the climb of the Mulanje Mount or the Zomba plateau and you won’t be disappointed.

Essential

15° WINTER / 30° SUMMER
KWACHA MALAWIEN
+1 WINTER
ENGLISH / Bantu languages
LILONGWE
NDIWO

Form your trip

The stages

If you travel to Malawi you can combine relaxation on the shores of Lake Malawi – and its calm water - and go on safaris in parks offering varied landscapes and multiple species of animals. Malawi is not very touristic yet so you will be able to enjoy these activities in unspoilt and untouched environments. Malawi is a land of contrasts and also a small country with very welcoming and warm people with a rich and traditional culture.

La découverte

Avec une superficie de 72 000 km2, le Malawi est l’un des plus petits pays d’Afrique. Cette destination permet de combiner détente au bord du lac Malawi, et safaris dans un cadre privilégié. Les parcs nationaux sont connus pour abriter de nombreux éléphants, des antilopes, des zèbres, des phacochères, des élans, des léopards ou encore des chacals. Vous y trouverez également de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux, et plus de 500 espèces de poissons qui occupent les eaux du lac Malawi. Ce pays est encore peu fréquenté par les  touristes, et vous offre ainsi l'occasion de profiter d’une nature sauvage et préservée ainsi que d’une culture traditionnelle riche. Le Malawi est également connu pour son accueil plus chaleureux que nulle part ailleurs en Afrique.  

Identité

Le Malawi est un pays d’Afrique Australe situé entre le Mozambique, la Zambie et la Tanzanie. Encore très peu touristique, ce pays regorge de merveilles à découvrir. Entre safaris, randonnées et farniente, ce pays ravira tous les voyageurs. La présence de l’être humain au Malawi remonte à environ 3 000 ans. A cette époque ce sont les tribus de chasseurs-cueilleurs qui habitaient les terres du pays. Au fil du temps les Bantous ont peu à peu pris possession des terres jusqu'à la fondation du royaume Maravi au XVème siècle.

Notamment connu pour son lac, le Malawi est une destination à la fois balnéaire et culturelle. Cependant les férus d'efforts physiques pourront profiter de différentes activités telles que la randonnée, le kayak, l'escalade, le VTT.

Culture & Traditions

LA FAUNE SAUVAGE

Le Malawi est réputé pour ses nombreux parcs nationaux où vous pourrez admirer de nombreux animaux sauvages dont les fameux "Big Five". Les différents reliefs permettent aux voyageurs d'effectuer des safaris de différentes manières. A pied, en 4X4, en bateau ou encore à dos de cheval. 

LE LAC MALAWI

Le lac Malawi est le troisième plus grand lac d’Afrique et se partage entre le Malawi, le Mozambique et la Tanzanie. Ce lac est connu à travers le monde entier pour sa diversité aquatique. Plusieurs centaines d'espèces endémiques y évoluent. Les activités sont nombreuses au Lac Malawi; vous pouvez entre autres faire du kayak, du jet ski, du bateau, du snorkelling, de la voile ou simplement vous reposer sur les plages de sable blanc.

LA CULTURE DU THÉ

Introduit dans les années 1880 durant la colonisation anglaise, le thé est devenue la deuxième culture d'exportation du Malawi. Alors n'hésitez pas à aller gouter le thé local ainsi que d'aller à la rencontre des cueilleurs. Les plantations sont principalement regroupées autour du Mont Mulanje, dans le sud du pays. 

LA RANDONNÉE

Le Malawi est une destination privilégiée des amateurs de randonnées. Avec ses paysages sauvages et verdoyants, il offre aux randonneurs l'opportunité d'évoluer dans un milieu préservé. N'hésitez pas à entamer l'ascension du Mont Mulanje ou du Plateau de Zomba.

Les indispensables

15° HIVER / 30° ÉTÉ
KWACHA MALAWIEN
+1 HIVER
ANGLAIS / LANGUES BANTOUES
LILONGWE
LE NDIWO

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes

Un voyage au Malawi vous permettra de combiner détente sur les rives du Lac Malawi - aux airs de mer calme - et safari dans des parcs offrant des paysages divers et variés ainsi que de multiples espèces d’animaux. Vous pourrez profiter de ces attraits en toute tranquillité dans une nature préservée, car le Malawi reste encore peu touristique. Terre de contrastes, c’est également un petit pays au peuple chaleureux et à la culture riche et traditionnelle.