Discovery

Mozambique is above all a great seaside destination: its 2,500 kilometres of coast offer a myriad of white sand beaches bathed in turquoise water, and dreamlike small islands perfect for sheer laziness, water sports, fishing, or whales watching from June to October. But the country is also a true paradise for divers. Its water display a superb coral reefs, fishes by thousands, rays manta, as well as large marine mammals like sharks whales and dugongs.

Identity

Located in the south of coast of Africa, Mozambique’s lands border with Tanzania in the north, Malawi in the North-West, Zambia and Zimbabwe in the west, and South Africa and Swaziland in the south. This country offers a insight on Africa - in all its forms -authentic and typical. Mozambique is perfect for travellers looking for an unspoilt wilderness. Mozambique counts more than 99% of Black people and 1% of White people, mainly of European origin.

The principal African ethnic groups in Mozambique are Macuas, Tsongas (descendants of Bantu), and Makondés, also descendants of the Bantu. The Mozambicans today are still much attached to their traditions. As an example, there are a lot more curandeiros doctors than Western doctors in many villages. The curandeiros are indeed traditional doctors who cure their patients by getting rid of the bad spirits, using ancestral methods. When they need to a bad spell or a bewitchment, they can call on profeitas, which will call upon the spirits.

Culture & Traditions

THE DIVING

Mozambique represents a privileged spot for diving and snorkelling. Its water is inhabited by tortoises, dolphins, rays mantas, sharks whales and dugongs. There, you will also be able to watch from July to October the impressive migration of the humpback whales.

WILDLIFE

Although the Mozambican national parks have a smaller animal population than in their South-African and Tanzanian counterparts, the beauty of its wilderness will not leave you indifferent. You will be able to spot lions, zebras, leopards, elephants, rhinoceroses......

ACTIVITIES

Mozambique abounds in natural wonders, starting with absolutely paradisiacal beaches where you will be able to devote yourselves to diving and various water sports. Inland, you will meet with the autochtones and go on safaris..

LAKE NIASSA

Its crystal blue water are home to more than one thousand different species of fish, as well as the last fresh water corals of the world. A stay by the lake will allow you to discover this extraordinary watery fauna, but also to unearth sumptuous landscapes punctuated by charming villages.

Essential

Mozambique has two quite distinct seasons. The southern winter is from May to October, it is the dry season. It is preferable for the divers to leave at this period to see the whales. The summer, which is the rainy season, is from November to March.

15°-25° WINTER / 20°-35° SUMMER
METALICAL
+1 WINTER
PORTUGUESE / ETHNICS LANGUAGE
MAPUTO
MATAPA

Form your trip

The stages

Mozambique is a destination not very well known in Africa although it presents many advantages. Discover this confidential destination by living a custom-made experience combining safaris, cultural discoveries and seaside resort stay. A travel to Mozambique will unravel the well kept secrets of Africa. Cross the national parks and track the lions, zebras, leopards and other elephants, experience a seaside resort in the middle of the Indian Ocean and dive on an underwater tour.

La découverte

Le Mozambique est avant tout une destination balnéaire de choix : ses 2 500 kilomètres de côte offrent aux voyageurs une myriade de plages de sable blanc léchées par des eaux turquoises, et des îlots de rêve propices au farniente, à la pratique des sports nautiques, à la pêche au gros, ou encore à l’observation des baleines de juin à octobre. Mais le pays est surtout un véritable paradis pour les plongeurs. Ses eaux abritent en effet par endroit de superbes récifs coralliens, des poissons par milliers, des raies manta, mais aussi des gros mammifères marins comme des requins baleines et des dugongs.

Identité

Situé au sud de la côte-est africaine, le Mozambique a des frontières terrestres avec la Tanzanie au nord, le Malawi au nord-ouest, la Zambie et le Zimbabwe à l’ouest, et l’Afrique du Sud et le Swaziland au sud. Ce pays offre une vision de l'Afrique sous toutes ses formes, authentique et typique. Le Mozambique s'adresse aux voyageurs avertis en quête d'une nature sauvage et très peu fréquentée. Le Mozambique compte plus de 99% de Noirs et 1% de Blancs, d’origine principalement européenne.

Les principales ethnies africaines présentes au Mozambique sont les Macuas, les Tsongas (descendants des Bantous), et les Makondés, également descendants des Bantous. Les Mozambicains sont encore aujourd’hui très attachés à leurs traditions. En témoigne, par exemple, la prééminence des curandeiros sur les médecins occidentaux dans de nombreux villages. Les curandeiros sont en effet des médecins traditionnels qui soignent les maux de leurs patients en chassant les mauvais esprits et en utilisant des méthodes ancestrales. Quand il s’agit de contrer un mauvais sort ou un envoûtement, ils peuvent faire appel à des profeitas, qui invoqueront les esprits.

Culture & Traditions

LA PLONGÉE

Le Mozambique représente un spot privilégié pour la plongée et le snorkelling. Ses eaux sont notamment fréquentées par des tortues, des dauphins, des raies mantas, des requins baleines et des dugongs. Vous pourrez également y admirer, de juillet à octobre la migration impressionnante des baleines à bosse.

LA FAUNE SAUVAGE

Même si les parcs nationaux mozambicains sont moins peuplés d’animaux que leurs homologues sud-africains et tanzaniens, il n’en présentent pas moins une nature sauvage dont la beauté ne peut laisser indifférent. Vous pourrez y observer des lions, des zèbres, des léopards, des éléphants, des rhinocéros…

LES ACTIVITÉS

Le Mozambique regorge de merveilles naturelles, à commencer par des plages absolument paradisiaques où vous pourrez vous adonner à la plongée et à divers sports nautiques. Dans les terres, vous pourrez aller à la rencontre des autochtones et faire des safaris.

LE LAC NIASSA

 Ses eaux d’un bleu cristallin abritent plus d’un millier d’espèces de poissons différentes, ainsi que les derniers coraux d’eau douce du monde. Un séjour au bord du lac vous permettra de plonger à la découverte de cette extraordinaire faune aquatique, mais aussi de découvrir de somptueux paysages parsemés, ça et là, de charmants villages. 

Les indispensables

Le Mozambique possède deux saisons bien distinctes. L’hiver austral se situe de mai à octobre, il s’agit de la saison sèche. Il est préférable pour les plongeurs de partir à cette période pour voir les baleines. L’été, qui est la saison des pluies se situe de novembre à mars.

15°-25° HIVER / 20°-35° ÉTÉ
LE METALICAL
+1 HIVER
PORTUGAIS / LANGUES ETHNIQUES
MAPUTO
LA MATAPA

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes

Le Mozambique est une destination peu connue d'Afrique bien qu'elle présente de nombreux avantages. Découvrez cette destination confidentielle en vivant une expérience sur mesure alliant safaris, découvertes culturelles et séjour balnéaire. Un voyage au Mozambique vous fera découvrir les secrets bien gardés d’Afrique. Parcourez les parcs nationaux sur les traces des lions, zèbres, léopards et autres éléphants, vivez une escapade balnéaire au cœur de l’Océan Indien et plongez à la découverte des fonds marins.