Discovery

Ground of the Mayas and the volcanos, Guatemala brings happiness travellers attracted by the diversity of its landscapes, its splendid historic buildings, its mysterious culture and its vestiges. Indeed, this small region of Central America has the many ones and attractive wonders. To travel to Guatemala east before any synonym of discovered traditions and pagan beliefs. You also will venture you in tropical jungles with luxuriant nature. Lake Atitlan with its majestic volcanos, via the area of Coban and its green fields of plantation; all is impressive there. Also discover the natural wealth of Rio Dulce, the cascades of Semuc Champey, the jungle of Petén, Chichicastenango, the pretty town of Antigua, the pyramids of Tikal de Yaxha or Aguateca… Your conquest of the mysterious Maya civilisation in Guatemala will be only more authentic!

Identity

Ideally located between the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, Guatemala books to its visitors of the varied and stunning landscapes. A travel to Guatemala is indeed the occasion to discover natural sites of any beauty like the national park Laguna Lachuga, the lake Atitlan, the oasis of Semuc Champey favourable with a paradisiac bathe in fresh water and turquoise of its natural pools, or the greatest concentration of active volcanos of Central America which it is possible to explore via trekkings organized for most sporting.

Of curious and accessible nature, the Guatemalans like to share their history, their tradition and their culture with the visitors. Your travel will be a formidable experiment accompanied by these inhabitants out of commun run. You will be surprised by their kindness. Share their daily newspaper while going in the many markets of street and by visiting certain villages of the country.

Culture & Traditions

MAYAN SITES

The Guatemalan territory is strewn with more incredible Mayan sites the ones than the others. This old population occupied Guatemala several centuries ago. However part of this population is still present on the territory and their traces are quite present, in particular in Tikal, El Mirador, Copan or in Abaj Tak Alik…

NATURE

Guatemala is a jewel of nature. Its panoramas out of commun run will leave you without voice. Begin your day while surfing on the most beautiful Latin America Lake and by climbing the volcanos. Stop your day by trotting you in the jungle, by bathing you in natural pools or let try itself by the beaches of Guatemala.

SEMUC CHAMPEY

Semuc Champey is described per many people like the most imposing place of Guatemala. Its natural limestone bridge where is a series of basins with water turquoises is the ideal place for a bathe. Although this corner of paradise is difficult access, this experiment is especially not to be missed.

ETHNIC MINORITIES

Guatemala still lodges the famous population of the Maya which is divided into four different groups. Quiches, Mam, Kekchiet Kaqchiquel. The latter live mainly in high-are in hiding Guatemalan. You will be able to also go to the meeting of Chinkas, Ladinos and Garifunas.

Essential

In Guatemala, the climate is tropical though more moderate in altitude. On the level as of coastal areas as in the lowlands of North the weather is hot and wet. However, in the regions higher the weather is dry and the temperature can vary much with altitude. The best period to visit Guatemala is the dry season of the end of November to April. 

20°
THE QUETZAL GUATEMALTEQUE
-7 WINTER / -8 SUMMER
SPANISH
GUATEMALA CITY
PEPIÀN / TAPADO

La découverte

Terre des Mayas et des volcans, le Guatemala fait le bonheur des voyageurs attirés par la diversité de ses paysages, ses magnifiques monuments historiques, sa culture et ses vestiges mystérieux. En effet, cette petite contrée d’Amérique Centrale possède de nombreuses et fascinantes merveilles. Voyager au Guatemala est avant tout synonyme de découvertes des traditions et des croyances païennes. Vous allez aussi vous aventurer dans des jungles tropicales à la nature luxuriante. Du Lac Atitlan avec ses majestueux volcans, en passant par la région de Coban et ses champs de plantation verdoyants ; tout y est impressionnant. Découvrez également la richesse naturelle du Rio Dulce, les cascades de Semuc Champey, la jungle du Petén, le Chichicastenango, la jolie ville d’Antigua, les pyramides de Tikal de Yaxha ou d’Aguateca… Votre conquête de la mystérieuse civilisation maya au Guatemala n’en sera  que plus authentique !

Identité

Idéalement situé entre l’océan Pacifique et la mer des Caraïbes, le Guatemala réserve à ses visiteurs des paysages variés et époustouflants. Un voyage au Guatemala est en effet l’occasion de découvrir des sites naturels de toute beauté comme le parc national Laguna Lachuga, le lac Atitlan, l’oasis de Semuc Champey propice à une baignade paradisiaque dans l’eau douce et turquoise de ses piscines naturelles, ou encore la plus grande concentration de volcans actifs d’Amérique Centrale qu’il est possible d’explorer via des treks organisés pour les plus sportifs.

De nature curieuse et accueillante, les Guatémaltèques aiment partager leur histoire, leur tradition et leur culture avec les visiteurs. Votre voyage sera une formidable expérience en compagnie de ces habitants hors du commun. Vous serez surpris par leur gentillesse. Partagez leur quotidien en allant dans les nombreux marchés de rue et en visitant certains villages du pays.

Culture & Traditions

LES SITES MAYAS

Le territoire guatemaltèque est parsemé de sites mayas plus incroyables les uns que les autres. Cette ancienne population occupait le Guatemala il y a plusieurs siècles. Cependant une partie de cette  population est encore présente sur le territoire et leurs traces sont bien présentes, notamment à Tikal, El Mirador, Copan ou encore à Abaj Tak Alik...

LA NATURE

Le Guatemala est un joyau de la nature. Ses panoramas hors du commun vous laisseront sans voix. Commencez votre journée en naviguant sur le plus beau lac d'Amérique Latine et en gravissant les volcans. Finissez votre journée en vous baladant dans la jungle, en vous baignant dans des piscines naturelles ou laissez vous tenter par les plages du Guatemala.

SEMUC CHAMPEY

Semuc Champey est décrit par beaucoup de personnes comme l'endroit le plus grandiose du Guatemala. Son pont naturel de calcaire où se trouve une série de bassins aux eaux turquoises est l'endroit idéal pour une baignade. Bien que ce coin de paradis soit difficile d'accès, cette expérience est à ne surtout pas manquer.

LES MINORITÉS ETHNIQUES

Le Guatemala héberge encore la fameuse population des mayas qui se divise en quatre groupes différents. Les Quichés, les Mam, les Kekchiet les Kaqchiquel. Ces derniers vivent principalement dans les hautes-terres guatemaltèques. Vous pourrez aussi aller à la rencontre des Chinkas, des Ladinos et des Garifunas.

Les indispensables

Au Guatemala, le climat est tropical quoique plus tempéré en altitude. Au niveau des zones côtières ainsi que dans les basses terres du Nord il fait chaud et humide. Cependant, dans les régions plus élevée il fait sec et les température peuvent beaucoup varier avec l’altitude. La meilleure période pour visiter le Guatemala est la saison sèche de fin novembre à avril.

 

20°
LE QUETZAL GUATEMALTEQUE
-7 HIVER / -8 ÉTÉ
ESPAGNOL
GUATEMALA CITY
PEPIÀN / TAPADO