Discovery

In the north of the country, you will be able to remain in a palace of maharaja in the Rajasthan, to hike in the grandiose landscapes of the Himalayas, to impregnate you spirituality which reigns on crowned banks of Gange with Bénarès, to let to you dazzle by the splendour of Taj Mahal, to leave to the meeting the Bengal tiger, or, to let to you carry in this mixture of unrestrained modernity and colonial past which characterizes its swarming metropolises. In the south, pass by vibrating Bombay before choosing to undertake a safari on the back of elephant in the tropical forest, to be stretched out on the paradisiac beaches of Goa and Kerala, to taste with the colonial charm of Pondichéry, or to leave to meditate in a center ayurvedic.

Identity

India is separate moreover of Asia by impressive natural borders: mountains of the Himalayas in north, Sea of Oman in the West, the Indian Ocean in the South and the Bay of Bengal in the East. Conquests and invasions put rhythm into the history of the country during several millenia, each culture mixing with the preceding one for little by little characterizing the country by a powerful religious and cultural syncretism. From 1600 to 500 before J. - C., is held the vedic period which sees the birth of the religion hindouist imported by the Aryan ones of Central Asia which settles gradually in the valley of Indus. At the 5th century before J. - C. appear Buddhism and the jainism which are freed from the Hinduism by preaching an ideal of renunciation whereas the urban wealth develops more and more. 

If it is far from missing assets, India is however a country which is deserved, and it will sometimes be necessary for you to pass in addition to poverty, heat or crowd to fully appreciate flavours and the mysteries of this destination-mosaic. Mosaic of colors, religions, ethnic groups, languages, flavours, perfumes, and cultures, whose charms will not leave any indifferent traveller.

Culture & Traditions

TAJ MAHAL

Gigantic white marble mausoleum, it was built between 1631 and 1643 by the large Mogul emperor Shah Jahan, in order to accommodate there the skin of his favorite wife Mumtaz Mahal, died while being confined of their fourteenth child. Shah Jahan made work the best architects and craftsmen of the time, accompanied by 20,000 blue-collar workers, and with spent more than 41 million rupees and 500 kg of gold.

CASTES

The castes are the expression even of the design hindouist, fundamental for the organization of the Indian social life. There are the Brahmans who represent the caste of the well-read men and the priests. The kshatriyas which are the warriors, with the duty to protect the weak ones. The vaishyas which represent the tradesmen and finally will shudras them, i.e. the craftsmen.

HINDUISM

The Hinduism differs from the other religions because it has neither dogmas, neither prophet, nor central authority. This religion is made of a set of very old philosophical concepts. Different ritual and concepts put rhythm into this religion. Dharma which fixes the duties according to the castes and of the age. Samsara, the cycle of the reincarnations, the karma which represents control and the acts, the virtue of the person. Moksha, the delivery, the ultimate goal of the life in the Hinduism. To succeed in leaving the circle of reincarnations to reach Moksha. For the Hindus, there exists one God, Brahma which is the supreme and absolute truth.

GASTRONOMY

The discovery of India and its various areas unquestionably also passes by that of its kitchen. India of the South east primarily vegetarian, i.e. without meat, neither fish, nor egg, and in certain more extreme cases without onion and garlic. Thus is primarily cooked containing rice and of various and varied vegetables, the whole accompanied by very raised spicy sauces. India of North as for it, is more carnivorous. Nevertheless, for religious reasons, one will find there almost never pig (prohibited by Islam), nor of ox (the cow is an animal crowned for the Hindus). Those are replaced by sheep or goat, chicken, and fish. A large variety of breads (naans, chapattis, parathas, roasts…) replaces usually the rice more used in the south.

Essential

Three principal seasons ago in India. The winter, from November to March, is the most pleasant season except in the Himalayas where the weather can be very cold. The Indian summer, from April to May, where heat is crushing. Then finally, monsoon where pouring rain falls down on all the country.

30°-40° SUMMER / 15°-20° WINTER
INDIAN ROUPIE
+3H30 SUMMER / +4H30 WINTER
English / Hindi / Bengali / Tamoul
New Delhi
DHAL / BIRYANI / CURRY

Form your trip

The stages

A travel in India east of an absolute wealth of term of culture, adventures, discoveries. Visit Taj Mahal and fill with wonder owe the record which the maharajas left. Let allure itself by a safari in India in one of the many animal reserves. Meditate in the country which saw being born yoga. Taste new flavours with a rich and various gastronomy and initiate with the cinema in the line of the films of the Bollywood. A travel to the Rajasthan, in India of north with Jaipur and its Hawa Mahal will be binding on you or you will prefer a circuit in India of the south with Pondichéry. Finish your stay with Goa at the seaside.

La découverte

Dans le nord du pays, vous pourrez séjourner dans un palais de maharaja au Rajasthan, faire des randonnées dans les paysages grandioses de l’Himalaya, vous imprégner de la spiritualité qui règne sur les rives sacrées du Gange à Bénarès, vous laisser éblouir par la splendeur du Taj Mahal, partir à la rencontre du tigre du Bengale, ou encore, vous laisser emporter dans ce mélange de modernité effrénée et de passé colonial qui caractérise ses métropoles grouillantes. Dans le sud, passez par la trépidante Bombay avant de choisir d’entreprendre un safari à dos d’éléphant dans la forêt tropicale, de vous prélasser sur les plages paradisiaques de Goa et du Kerala, de goûter au charme colonial de Pondichéry, ou de partir méditer dans un centre ayurvédique.

Identité

L’Inde est séparée du reste de l’Asie par des frontières naturelles impressionnantes : les montagnes de l’Himalaya au nord, la Mer d’Oman à l’Ouest, l’Océan Indien au Sud et le Golfe du Bengale à l’Est. Conquêtes et invasions ont rythmé l’histoire du pays pendant plusieurs millénaires, chaque culture se mêlant à la précédente pour peu à peu caractériser le pays par un puissant syncrétisme religieux et culturel. De 1600 à 500 avant J.-C., se déroule la période védique qui voit la naissance de la religion hindouiste importée par les Aryens d’Asie Centrale qui s’installent progressivement dans la vallée de l’Indus. Au Ve siècle avant J.-C. apparaissent le bouddhisme et le jaïnisme qui s’affranchissent de l’hindouisme en prônant un idéal de renonciation alors que la richesse urbaine se développe de plus en plus.

Si elle est loin de manquer d’atouts, l’Inde est cependant un pays qui se mérite, et il vous faudra parfois passer outre la pauvreté, la chaleur ou la foule pour apprécier pleinement les saveurs et les mystères de cette destination-mosaïque. Mosaïque de couleurs, de religions, de groupes ethniques, de langues, de saveurs, de parfums, et de cultures, dont les charmes ne laisseront aucun voyageur indifférent.

Culture & Traditions

TAJ MAHAL

Gigantesque mausolée de marbre blanc, il fut édifié entre 1631 et 1643 par le grand empereur moghol Shah Jahan, afin d’y accueillir la dépouille de son épouse favorite Mumtaz Mahal, morte en accouchant de leur quatorzième enfant. Shah Jahan a fait travailler les meilleurs architectes et artisans de l’époque, accompagnés de 20 000 ouvriers, et à dépensé plus de 41 millions de roupies et 500 kg d’or.

LES CASTES

Les castes sont l'expression même de la conception hindouiste, fondamentale pour l'organisation de la vie sociale indienne. Il y a les brahmanes qui représentent la caste des lettrés et des prêtres. Les kshatriyas qui sont les guerriers, au devoir de protéger les faibles. Les vaishyas qui représentent les commerçants et enfin les shudras, c'est à dire les artisans.

HINDOUISME

L'hindouisme diffère des autres religions car elle n'a ni dogmes, ni prophète, ni autorité centrale. Cette religion est formée d'un ensemble de concepts philosophiques très anciens. Différents rituels et notions rythment cette religion. Le Dharma qui fixe les devoirs en fonction des castes et de l'âge. Samsara, le cycle des réincarnations, le karma qui représente la conduite et les actes, la vertu de la personne. Moksha, la délivrance, le but ultime de la vie dans l'hindouisme. Réussir à sortir du cercle de réincarnations pour atteindre Moksha. Pour les hindous, il n'existe qu'un seul Dieu, Brahma qui est la vérité suprême et absolue.

LA GASTRONOMIE

La découverte de l’Inde et de ses différentes régions passe indéniablement aussi par celle de sa cuisine. L’Inde du Sud est essentiellement végétarienne, c’est à dire sans viande, ni poisson, ni œuf, et dans certains cas plus extrêmes sans oignon et sans ail. La cuisine est donc essentiellement faite à base de riz et de légumes divers et variés, le tout accompagné de sauces épicées très relevées. L’Inde du Nord quant à elle, est plus carnivore. Néanmoins, pour des raisons religieuses, on n’y trouvera quasiment jamais de porc (interdit par l’Islam), ni de bœuf (la vache est un animal sacré pour les Hindous). Ceux-ci sont remplacés par du mouton ou de la chèvre, du poulet, et du poisson. Une grande variété de pains (naans, chapattis, parathas, rotis…) remplacent habituellement le riz plus utilisé dans le sud.

Les indispensables

Il y a trois saisons principales en Inde. L’hiver, de Novembre à Mars, est la saison la plus agréable sauf dans l’Himalaya où il peut faire très froid. L’été Indien, d’Avril à Mai, où la chaleur est écrasante. Puis enfin, la mousson où des pluies diluviennes s’abattent sur tout le pays

30°-40° ÉTÉ / 15°-20° HIVER
Roupie Indienne
+3H30 ÉTÉ / +4H30 ÉTÉ
Anglais / Hindi / Bengali / Tamoul
New Delhi
LE DHAL / LE BIRYANI / CURRY

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes

Un voyage en Inde est d'une richesse absolue en terme de culture, d'aventures, de découvertes. Visitez le Taj Mahal et émerveillez vous devant les fastes qu'ont laissé les maharajas. Laissez vous séduire par un safari en Inde dans une des nombreuses réserves animales. Méditez dans le pays qui a vu naitre le yoga. Goûtez de nouvelles saveurs avec une gastronomie riche et diverse et initiez vous au cinéma bollywoodien. Un voyage au Rajasthan, en Inde du nord à Jaipur et son Hawa Mahal s'imposera à vous ou vous préférerez un circuit en inde du sud à Pondichéry. Terminez votre séjour à Goa au bord de la mer.