Discovery

This magic island has temples registered with the heritage of UNESCO but also of the paradisiac beaches as well as spectacular landscapes. You will be able to swim in the middle of the dolphins, to observe the whales and the large cachalots or to make a safari in the middle of the elephants in the large parks of the South. The sportsmen will be able to practise the diving, surfing, the kite surfing or the excursion in the plantations of tea. Where quite simply to put back you in hotels which combine colonial charm and great luxury.

Identity

Located at only 30 km of the Indian coasts, this magic island, important hearth of radiation of Buddhism has kilometers of wild beaches, a sublime nature with national parks which compete with the large African parks for the observation of the elephants and not less than seven sites registered with the world heritage of humanity like that of Anuradhapura, first capital of the island. The interior of the country lends itself to splendid excursions within the plantations of tea or in parks in search of wild animals and of multicoloured birds.

Sri Lanka does not count less about thirty bank holidays a year, during which are celebrated the festivals as well Buddhist, which Hindu, Christian or Moslem. The festival of Vesak Poya proceeds during two days, and commemorates at the same time the birth, the awakening and the death of Buddha. As for the Pongal Thai, it is a Hindu celebration given in honour of God of the Sun, Surya.

Culture & Traditions

BLUE WHALE AND CACHALOT

After having visited the grounds, you will be able to pass a balneal stay on the paradisiac beaches of Mirissa. Its water contains an extremely rare natural treasure. The large cachalot! This last joined the blue whale recently, and it is now the best place to observe this specimen. The large cachalot can measure up to 20 meters and weigh up to 15,000 kg.

THE TEA

Tea and one of the principal products of export of Sri Lanka. The plantations of tea especially present on the Sri Lankian top-plates points out the old British presence. The British brought of India the Tamil population as from the 19th century like labour to maintain these plantations. The Tamil ones still populate these grounds. At the time of excursions, you will be able to visit several plantations and factories of tea and to go to the meeting of these people.

THE ORPHANAGE OF THE ELEPHANTS OF PINNEWALA

Located on the highlands Sri Lankian close to Kegalle, the government with created an orphanage for the elephants in order to save the abandoned or orphan individuals. You will be able to thus approach the pachyderms which are supervised by their mahout. The orphanage counts about sixty boarders of which several elephant calves.

ADAM'S PEAK

Adam' S Peak, or the Peak of Adam, is one of the most extraordinary mountains of Sri Lanka. Its top, having the clean form of a print of step, culminates with 2,243 meter altitudes. It owes its name with its reputation which says that it is the place where Adam has to pose feet on the ground after being driven out paradise. This place became a mythical place of pilgrimage for several populations. Indeed, the Hindus, Muslims, Christians and Buddhist undertake the rise of the mountain in order to discover at the top a cavity of two meters which is supposed being the print of step of Buddha, Adam or Shiva.

Essential

Sri Lanka has a tropical climate with one season dries from December to March and a monsoon from October to January.

AROUND 30 ° ALL YEAR
The Sri Lankan rupee
+4h30 WINTER / +3H30 SUMMER
CINGHALAIS / TAMOULS / ENGLISH
Colombo
Rice & Curry

La découverte

Cette île magique possède des temples inscrits au patrimoine de l'UNESCO mais aussi des plages paradisiaques ainsi que des paysages spectaculaires. Vous pourrez nager au milieu des dauphins, observer les baleines et les grands cachalots ou encore faire un safari au milieu des éléphants dans les grands parcs du Sud. Les sportifs pourront pratiquer la plongée, le surf, le kite surf ou la randonnée dans les plantations de thé. Où tout simplement vous reposer dans des hôtels qui allient charme colonial et grand luxe.

Identité

Située à seulement 30 km des côtes indiennes, cette île magique, important foyer de rayonnement du bouddhisme possède des kilomètres de plages sauvages, une nature sublime avec des parcs nationaux qui rivalisent avec les grands parcs africains pour l’observation des éléphants et pas moins de sept sites inscrits au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité comme celui d’Anuradhapura, première capitale de l’île. L’intérieur du pays se prête à des randonnées magnifiques au sein des plantations de thé ou dans des parcs à la recherche d’animaux sauvages et d’oiseaux multicolores.

Le Sri Lanka ne compte pas moins d’une trentaine de jours fériés par an, durant lesquels sont célébrées les fêtes aussi bien bouddhistes, qu’hindoues, chrétiennes ou musulmanes. La fête de Vesak Poya se déroule durant deux jours, et commémore à la fois la naissance, l’éveil et la mort de Bouddha. Quant au Thai Pongal,  c’est une célébration hindoue donnée en l’honneur du Dieu du Soleil, Surya.

Culture & Traditions

BALEINE BLEUE ET CACHALOT

Après avoir visité les terres, vous pourrez passer un séjour balnéaire sur les plages paradisiaques de Mirissa. Ses eaux renferment un trésor naturel extrêmement rare. Le grand cachalot ! Ce dernier a rejoint la baleine bleue depuis peu, et il s'agit maintenant du meilleur endroit pour observer ce specimen. Le grand cachalot peut mesurer jusqu'à 20 mètres et peser jusqu'à 15 000 kg. 

LE THÉ

Le thé et l'un des principaux produits d'exportation du Sri Lanka. Les plantations de thé surtout présentes sur les hauts-plateaux Sri Lankais rappelle l'ancienne présence britannique. Les Britanniques ont amené d'Inde la population Tamoule à partir du XIXeme siècle comme main d'oeuvre pour entretenir ces plantations. Les Tamouls peuplent encore ces terres. Lors de randonnées, vous pourrez visiter plusieurs plantations et fabriques de thé et aller à la rencontre de ce peuple.

L'ORPHELINAT DES ÉLÉPHANTS DE PINNEWALA

Situé sur les hautes terres Sri Lankaise près de Kegalle , le gouvernement à créé un orphelinat pour les éléphants afin de sauver les individus abandonnés ou orphelins. Vous pourrez ainsi approcher les pachydermes qui sont surveillés par leur cornac. L'orphelinat compte une soixantaine de pensionnaires dont plusieurs éléphanteaux

ADAM'S PEAK

Adam's Peak, ou le Pic d’Adam, est l'une des montagnes les plus extraordinaires du Sri Lanka. Son sommet, ayant la forme propre d’une empreinte de pas, culmine à 2.243 mètres d'altitude. Elle doit son nom à sa réputation qui dit qu'il s'agit de l'endroit où Adam a poser pied sur terre après avoir été chassé du paradis. Ce lieu est devenu un lieu de pelerinage mythique pour plusieurs populations. En effet, les hindous, musulmans, chrétiens et bouddhiste entreprennent l'ascension de la montagne afin de découvrir au sommet une cavité de deux mètres qui est censée être l'empreinte de pas de Bouddha, d'Adam ou de Shiva.

Les indispensables

Le Sri Lanka possède un climat tropical avec une saison sèche de décembre à mars et une mousson d’octobre à janvier.

ENVIRONS 30° TOUTE L'ANNÉE
La roupie Sri Lankaise
+4h30 HIVER / +3H30 ÉTÉ
LE CINGHALAIS / TAMOULS / ANGLAIS
Colombo
Rice & Curry