Discovery

Belgium will surprise you by his wealth so much this country bordering can be different from France. Art occupies there a great importance and the many museums are there to testify some. Architecture is very inspired by the Gothic movement except for some exceptions like Bruges with the romantic variation. A travel in Belgium plunges you in the middle of the European directions. Visit Brussels, seat of the European institutions or Namur, seat of the Walloon Parliament. Stop in Liege for its architectural heritage or Bruges whose historic center is classified with the world heritage of UNESCO. A travel in Belgium will astonish you by his cultural diversity and artistic.

Identity

Sheltering the principal institutions of the European Union in Brussels, Belgium is known to be the capital of Europe. Modern and artistic city, Brussels is the first tourist destination of the country. Its many centers of historical and cultural attractions emit a radiation of international scale indeed. Its hundreds of museums, architectural monuments and works of art testify to an authentic folklore and a rich history, with the image of the great men there having lived like Victor Hugo or Karl Marx. But Belgium hiding place many other treasures in its areas of Flandres and Wallonia, as the 11 sites already classified with the World heritage testify some to UNESCO: belfries, cathedrals, museums, historic centers, places and other works architectural. Moreover, Belgium also has a landscape of an exceptional variety. Between discovered and excursions of all kinds – on foot or with bicycle, one can visit there animalist caves, caves, parks, gardens and nature reserves. Without forgetting the Flemish beach, with its fine sand littoral and its seaside resorts of charm to the multiple activities. 

How to speak about Belgium without mentioning its passion for the cartoon, her gastronomical wealth – inter alia its hundreds of beer collections of which famous Pilsner – and its chocolate. Manufactured by more than 500 chocolate sellers and distributed in nearly 2000 shops through the country, the Belgian chocolates are part of the best ambassadors of brand of the country. As many assets which contribute to bring happiness visitors. Vis-a-vis their increasingly massive arrival, Belgium developed a modern infrastructure and a very dense transport network jointly which privileges the accessibility in its urban areas.

Culture & Traditions

THE CARTOON

Veritable institution, the cartoon allured small and large in the whole world, and continues today to make dream the amateurs of bubbles and stripteases! D' Hergé with Franquin, via Yslaire and Philippe Geluck, band-drawn definitely found in Belgium its noble letters. The country continues to celebrate its heroes, giving birth to a little everywhere on its territory from the museums with glory from Tintin, Lucky Luke or the Sambre family. The capital itself is put at the time of band-drawn, with its street names registered in disseminated bubbles and its frescos a little everywhere.

GASTRONOMY

The Belgian cuisine abounds in delicious dishes which quickly put water at the mouth. It is initially necessary to start with most famous of them: famous mould-French fries. Regarded as the national dish of Belgium, it is impossible to pass to side when one visits the country at the season of the mussel. Not less famous the Waffles of Liege or Brussels will bring happiness the greedy ones. Belgium is also famous for its chocolate, which throws into a panic the papillae of the largest amateurs of softnesses, without forgetting the beer, which one finds between 400 and 800 different varieties in the country.

THE MANNEKEN-PIS

Meaning “the kid who pisses” as inhabitant of Brussels, it is a bronze fountain-statuette whose origins remain mysterious still today. It represents a little boy urinating. Symbol of the lifestyle of Brussels and guardian of many legends, the statuette of about fifty centimetres height is famous in the whole world. The tradition of the city wants that this statue gets dressed with costumes to honour a trade on special occasions.

 

THE CARNIVAL OF BINCHE

Recognized Oral and Immaterial Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO in 2003, the Carnival of Binche is the oldest carnival of Belgium. Being held Fatty Sunday with the Shrove Tuesday, it constitut a true rite which gives the feeling to the participants to be single. During months, the population and the city prepare their carnival, in true communion. It is without any doubt the most important moment in the life of the Binche-native city. 

 

Essential

5° WINTER/ 20° SUMMER
EURO
FRENCH /FLANDERS / GERMAN
BRUXELLES
MUSSELS AND FRIES

La découverte

La Belgique vous surprendra par sa richesse tant ce pays limitrophe peut être différent de la France. L’art y occupe une grande importance et les nombreux musées sont là pour en témoigner. L’architecture est très inspirée du mouvement gothique sauf pour quelques exceptions comme Bruges à la déclinaison romantique. Un voyage en Belgique vous plonge au cœur des directions européennes. Visitez Bruxelles, siège des institutions européennes ou Namur, siège du Parlement wallon. Arrêtez vous à Liège pour son patrimoine architectural ou à Bruges dont le centre historique est classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco. Un voyage en Belgique vous étonnera par sa diversité culturelle et artistique.

Identité

Abritant les principales institutions de l’Union Européenne à Bruxelles,la Belgique est connue pour être la capitale de l’Europe. Ville moderne et artistique, Bruxelles est la première destination touristique du pays. Ses nombreux centres d’attractions historiques et culturels émettent en effet un rayonnement d’envergure internationale. Ses centaines de musées, monuments architecturaux et œuvres d’art témoignent d’un folklore authentique et d’une histoire riche, à l’image des grands hommes y ayant habité comme Victor Hugo ou Karl Marx. Mais la Belgique cache bien d’autres trésors dans ses régions des Flandres et de la Wallonie, comme en témoignent les 11 sites déjà classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO : beffrois, cathédrales, musées, centres historiques, places et autres œuvres architecturales. De plus, la Belgique dispose également d’un paysage d’une variété exceptionnelle. Entre découvertes et randonnées de toutes sortes – à pied ou à vélo, on peut y visiter grottes, cavernes, parcs animaliers, jardins et réserves naturelles. Sans oublier la plage flamande, avec son littoral de sable fin et ses stations balnéaires de charme aux multiples activités.

Comment parler de la Belgique sans mentionner sa passion pour la bande dessinée, sa richesse gastronomique – entre autres ses centaines de collections de bières dont les fameuses Pilsner – et son chocolat. Fabriqué par plus de 500 chocolatiers et distribué dans près de 2000 boutiques à travers le pays, les chocolats belges font partie des meilleurs ambassadeurs de marque du pays. Autant d’atouts qui contribuent à faire le bonheur des visiteurs. Face à leur arrivée de plus en plus massive, la Belgique a développé une infrastructure moderne et un réseau de transport en commun très dense qui privilégie la facilité d’accès dans ses zones urbaines.

Culture & Traditions

LA BANDE DESSINEE

Véritable institution, la bande dessinée a séduit petits et grands dans le monde entier, et continue aujourd’hui à faire rêver les amateurs de bulles et de strips ! D’Hergé à Franquin, en passant par Yslaire et Philippe Geluck, la bande-dessinée a décidément trouvé en Belgique ses lettres de noblesse. Le pays continue à célébrer ses héros, faisant naître un peu partout sur son territoire des musées à la gloire de Tintin, Lucky Luke ou encore la famille Sambre. La capitale elle-même se met à l’heure de la bande-dessinée, avec ses noms de rues inscrits dans des bulles et ses fresques disséminées un peu partout.

LA GASTRONOMIE

La cuisine belge regorge de délicieux plats qui mettent rapidement l’eau à la bouche. Il faut dans un premier temps commencer par le plus fameux d’entre eux : les célèbres moules-frites. Considéré comme le plat national de la Belgique, il est impossible de passer à côté lorsque l’on visite le pays à la saison de la moule. Non moins célèbre les Gaufres de Liège ou de Bruxelles feront le bonheur des gourmands. La Belgique est également célèbre pour son chocolat, qui affole les papilles des plus grands amateurs de douceurs, sans oublier la bière, dont on trouve entre 400 et 800 variétés différentes dans le pays.

LE MANNEKEN-PIS

Signifiant « le gamin qui pisse » en bruxellois, c’est une fontaine-statuette de bronze dont les origines restent encore aujourd’hui mystérieuses. Elle représente un petit garçon en train d’uriner. Symbole de l’art de vivre bruxellois et gardienne de nombreuses légendes, la statuette d’une cinquantaine de centimètres de hauteur est célèbre dans le monde entier. La tradition de la ville veut que cette statue s’habille de costumes pour honorer un métier à des occasions spéciales.

LE CARNAVAL DE BINCHE

Reconnu Patrimoine Oral et Immatériel de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO en 2003, Le Carnaval de Binche est le plus ancien carnaval de Belgique. Se déroulant du Dimanche Gras au Mardi-Gras, il constitut un véritable rite qui donne le sentiment aux participants d’être unique. Durant des mois, la population et la ville préparent leur carnaval, en véritable communion. C'est sans aucun doute le moment le plus important dans la vie de la cité binchoise.

 

 

Les indispensables

5° EN HIVER / 20° EN ETE
L'EURO
FRANCAIS / FLAMAND / ALLEMAND
BRUXELLES
MOULES FRITES