Discovery

A travel in Finland is a travel in the middle of the country of the Lappish ones, where extend as far as the eye can see from the cottony landscapes strewn with pine forests giants and cold lakes. Between aurorae boreales and herds of reindeers, the travel in Finland, more particularly in Lapland, resurrects the phantasm of exploration of the Far North. After having made stay with Helsinki, capital of the country and astonishing mixture between modernity and opening on Nature, you will be able to leave on a tour of the interior of the country. With the program, rackets, snowmobile, husky, sauna, fishing season with the hole, led on ice…

Identity

When one thinks of Finland, one immediately visualizes images of Far North, where the snow-covered forests and the frozen lakes recover the territory. The image is not completely erroneous. Indeed, from its proximity with the North pole, the winter remains Master in several regions of the country. But according to the season that you choose and the region which you visit, you will not see the same landscapes nor the same colors. Midnight sun in summer to the immaculate snow of the winter, you will indeed have the possibility of observing many climatic differences. Located north of Europe, Finland shares its borders in the east with Russia, and, is separated from Sweden in the west by the Gulf of Bothnia which opens in the south on the Baltic Sea. 

To leave for Finland, it is above all to answer the call of nature. Apart from the big cities like Helsinki, the country seems not to be worked by the hand of the man, and it is with amazement that you will leave in hiking, rackets or in snowmobile, to discover the reindeers walking with complete freedom in the most wild areas of the country, inviting you to serenity. Even the cities seem to be touched by the natural grace this single country. Indeed, they are established at the edge of the lakes or right in the middle of the forests, in the middle of absolutely magic frameworks. Modern and open about the world, Finland also knew to develop an enthralling cultural heritage that the visitors discover with the wire of the walks in each area of the country.

Culture & Traditions

THE SAUNA

National veritable institution, the sauna makes party integral of the daily life of the inhabitants who appreciate it for his hygienic role and of wellness. Convivial place, it is the occasion for the Finns to find themselves and discuss quietly.Most courageous finish their meeting by the avantouinti, ritual which consists in leaving the completely naked sauna, to prick a head in a lake with ice-cold water.

FISHING SEASON

Covered on 10% with its territory by stretches of water abounding in fishes, Finland is the ideal country to fish. As nearly a third of the Finnish population, the fishing season is practised throughout the year, only the techniques of fishing season and the species of fish change from one season to another. Finnish water shelters approximately 60 fish species like poles, pikes, roaches where still pike perches.

THE AREA OF THE LAKES

Finland is the country with the 1000 lakes. Plunged in the middle of nature, you will relearn to appreciate this simplicity while leaving in search of fresh water seals. Between two walks in the canoe, you will be able to also discover the superb cities of the area, as the island-castle of Savonlinna which is one of the best examples. Not far, the town of Jyväskylä shelters one of the most important festivals of opera, as well as superb buildings designed by the architect Alvar Aalto. To slacken you, will know that the town of Kuopio, in edge of lake, shelters a very pleasant sauna with smoke.

 

AURORAE BOREALES

True natural phenomenon, the aurorae boreales are visible in Finnish Lapland more or less 200 nights a year with condition however that the sky is sufficiently released. Urho Kekkonen National Park, and particularly the region of Ivalo with its covered with snow landscapes, offer spots of observation of any beauty. Igloos of glass were even installed there to admire these wells of light while remaining lengthened.

 

 

Essential

-10° WINTER / 20° SUMMER
EURO
+1H
FINNISH
HELSINKI
THE FISH/THE REINDEER

Form your trip

The stages

La découverte

Un voyage en Finlande est un voyage au cœur du pays des lapons, où s’étendent à perte de vue des paysages cotonneux parsemés de forêts de pins géants et de lacs gelés. Entre aurores boréales et troupeaux de rennes, le voyage en Finlande, plus particulièrement en Laponie, ressuscite le fantasme d’exploration du grand Nord. Après avoir fait séjour à Helsinki, capitale du pays et étonnant mélange entre modernité et ouverture sur la Nature, vous pourrez partir à la découverte de l’intérieur du pays. Au programme, raquettes, motoneige, chien de traîneau, sauna, pêche au trou, conduite sur glace…

Identité

Lorsque l’on pense à la Finlande, on visualise tout de suite des images de Grand Nord, où les forêts enneigées et les lacs glacés recouvrent le territoire. L’image n’est pas complètement erronée. En effet, de par sa proximité avec le Pôle Nord, l’hiver reste maître dans plusieurs régions du pays. Mais selon la saison que vous choisissez et la région que vous visitez, vous ne verrez pas les mêmes paysages ni les mêmes couleurs. Du soleil de minuit en été à la neige immaculée de l’hiver, vous aurez en effet la possibilité d’observer de nombreuses différences climatiques. Située au nord de l’Europe, la Finlande partage ses frontières à l’est avec la Russie, et, est séparée de la Suède à l’ouest par le golfe de Botnie qui s’ouvre au sud sur la mer Baltique.

Partir en Finlande, c’est avant tout répondre à l’appel de la nature. En dehors des grandes villes comme Helsinki, le pays semble ne pas avoir été façonné par la main de l’homme, et c’est avec émerveillement que vous partirez en randonnée pédestre, en raquettes ou encore en motoneige, pour découvrir les rennes se promenant en toute liberté dans les régions les plus sauvages du pays, vous invitant à la sérénité. Même les villes semblent être touchées par la grâce naturelle de ce pays unique. En effet, elles sont implantées au bord des lacs ou encore en plein milieu des forêts, au milieu de cadres absolument magiques. Moderne et ouverte sur le monde, la Finlande a également su développer un patrimoine culturel passionnant que les visiteurs découvrent au fil des promenades dans chacune des régions du pays. 

Culture & Traditions

LE SAUNA

Véritable institution nationale, le sauna fait parti intégrante de la vie quotidienne des habitants qui l’apprécient pour son rôle hygiénique et de bien-être. Lieu convivial, il est l’occasion pour les Finlandais de se retrouver et de discuter tranquillement. On ne compte pas moins d’un sauna pour seulement trois habitants. Les plus courageux finissent leur séance par l’avantouinti, rituel qui consiste à sortir du sauna complètement nu, pour piquer une tête dans un lac à l’eau glacée.

LA PÊCHE

Recouverte sur 10% de son territoire par des étendues d’eau regorgeant de poissons, la Finlande est le pays idéal pour pêcher. Comme près d’un tiers de la population finlandaise, la pêche se pratique tout au long de l’année, seules les techniques de pêche et les espèces de poisson changent d’une saison à l’autre. Les eaux finlandaises abritent environ 60 espèces de poisson comme des perches, des brochets, des gardons où encore des sandres.

 

LA REGION DES LACS

La Finlande est le pays aux 1000 lacs. Plongé au cœur de la nature, vous réapprendrez à apprécier cette simplicité en partant à la recherche des phoques d’eau douce. Entre deux promenades en canoë, vous pourrez également découvrir les superbes villes de la région, comme l’île-château de Savonlinna qui en est un des meilleurs exemples. Non loin, la ville de Jyväskylä abrite l’un des plus importants festivals d’opéra, ainsi que de superbes édifices conçus par l’architecte Alvar Aalto. Pour vous détendre, sachez que la ville de Kuopio, en bord de lac, abrite un très agréable sauna à fumée.

LES AURORES BOREALES

Véritable phenomène naturel, les aurores boréales sont visibles en Laponie finlandaise plus ou moins 200 nuits par an à condition toutefois que le ciel soit suffisamment dégagé. L’Urho Kekkonen National Park, et particulièrement la région d’Ivalo avec ses paysages enneigés, offrent des spots d’observation de toute beauté. Des igloos de verre y ont même été installés pour admirer ces puits de lumière tout en restant allongé.

 

 

Les indispensables

-10° HIVER / 20° ETE
L'EURO
+1H
LE FINNOIS
HELSINKI
LE POISSON / LE RENNE

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes