Discovery

A travel in Ireland transports you in the Celtic culture of a country to the multiple legends, castles and medieval cities. Nature is everywhere and is expressed in various forms, of the lake of Connemara to cliffs of Moher via the lunar plates of Burren, Ireland will not fail to allure the travellers in search of fresh air but also the sporting-men who will be able to devote themselves to horse riding, the bicycle, the kayak or even to surfing. Leave for a travel where can combine culture, nature and sports in a decoration enchanter made of green valleys and big spaces.

Identity

Since centuries, Ireland makes dream the travellers of the whole world. When his name is heard, one immediately visualizes mythical landscapes with the green valleys, as well as the legends which were born there. In spite of an agitated past, marked by the English occupation, this passion for the country of Saint Patrick never weakened. How to resist all these wonders in which Ireland abounds? Medieval cities, single culture, lakes, cliffs… All is to be seen and to re-examine in this country who knew to preserve a clean identity in spite of many invasions. Of passage on green Erin, it will be necessary for you to leave on a tour of all the recesses this mysterious territory in order to understand subtleties of them. Accommodated by people cordial and filled with good mood, you will let yourselves invade by the ambient joy, and will take readily a pint of Guiness to benefit from this magic environment.

Cradle of incredible legends, Ireland intrigues and you will take pleasure in visiting the various sites of the island which inspired the marvellous accounts of the Irish folklore. Castles of Dublin to the lake of Connemara, via the charms of Belfast, one has difficulty imagining that one will have to leave one day this legendary ground. Thus let you invade by the softness of Ireland and take the time to plunge there completely, you will not regret your travel in the green meadows of Erin.

Culture & Traditions

THE IRISH LEGENDS

The Irish culture is particularly marked, still today, by its mythology. Indeed, many legends, of which oldest date from the 7th century, mention phantoms, imps and other strange elves who tyrannize the inhabitants or on the contrary protect them. Emblematic figure, the lépréchaun in particular, small facetious imp, is known to protect the magic treasures and to reveal rainbows, indicators of cauldrons filled with gold. To cram it, nothing is worth a mutton stew or a good portion of cake, it is greedy!

CULTURE

Ireland has a very strong and very appreciated literature, thanks to authors with the international repute like Jonathan Swift, author of the Gulliver's Travels, Samuel Beckett or James Joyce, often considered as more the great author of all the 20th century. The music with the famous U2 group and Cranberries or the cinema are also with the honor. Many is the directors to have put Ireland ahead, whether it is for its history or its daily life. Most famous of them is Ken Loach.

PUBS

Indissociable of the Irish traditions, the pubs are veritable institutions with the country of beer and whisky. Indeed Ireland is especially famous for its famous whisky which one can taste pure, or then in one of these delicious Irish coffee, composed of a third of whisky and two thirds of coffee sweet and mixed with crème fraîche. But the beer is also a true monument of the Irish gastronomy, and it is difficult to pass beside Guinness when one comes to spend a few days on the island.

THE RELIGION

Ireland is a very religious country and very attached to its traditions. The major part of the Irishmen are members of the Church of Ireland, a ramification of the Church of England created by Henri VIII. Much of them is also members of the Presbyterian or Methodist Churches. However, in the south especially, one notes a very strong influence of the Roman Catholic Church. The Irishmen are also still close to their old pagan habits, and it is not rare to see in the campaigns or the small villages, of the ritual old men of several centuries, in order to protect the hearths or the children.

Essential

5°WINTER / 25° SUMMER
THE EURO
-1H
GAELIC AND THE ENGLISH
DUBLIN
IRISH STEW

La découverte

Un voyage en Irlande vous transporte dans la culture celte d'un pays aux multiples légendes, châteaux et cités médiévales. La nature est partout et s'exprime sous diverses formes, du lac du Connemara aux falaises de Moher en passant par les plateaux lunaires du Burren, l'Irlande ne manquera pas de séduire les voyageurs en quête d'air pur mais aussi les amateurs de sports qui pourront s'adonner à l'équitation, au vélo, au kayak ou même au surf. Partez pour un voyage où peuvent se combiner culture, nature et sports dans un décor enchanteur fait de vallées verdoyantes et de grands espaces. 

Identité

Depuis des siècles, l’Irlande fait rêver les voyageurs du monde entier. Lorsqu’on entend son nom, on visualise tout de suite de mythiques paysages aux vallées verdoyantes, ainsi que les légendes qui y sont nées. Malgré un passé agité, marqué par l’occupation anglaise, cet engouement pour le pays de Saint Patrick n’a jamais faibli.Comment résister à toutes ces merveilles dont regorge l’Irlande ? Cités médiévales, culture unique, lacs, falaises… Tout est à voir et à revoir dans ce pays qui a su conserver une identité propre malgré de nombreuses invasions. De passage sur la verte Erin, il vous faudra partir à la découverte de tous les recoins de ce territoire mystérieux afin d’en comprendre les subtilités. Accueilli par un peuple chaleureux et rempli de bonne humeur, vous vous laisserez envahir par la joie ambiante, et prendrez volontiers une pinte de Guiness pour profiter de cette ambiance magique.

Berceau de légendes incroyables, l'Irlande intrigue et vous prendrez plaisir à visiter les différents sites de l’île qui ont inspiré les récits merveilleux du folklore irlandais. Des châteaux de Dublin au lac du Connemara, en passant par les charmes de Belfast, on a du mal à imaginer qu’on devra quitter un jour cette terre légendaire. Laissez-vous donc envahir par la douceur de l’Irlande et prenez le temps d’y plonger intégralement, vous ne regretterez pas votre voyage dans les vertes prairies d’Erin.

Culture & Traditions

LES LEGENDES IRLANDAISES

La culture irlandaise est particulièrement marquée, aujourd’hui encore, par sa mythologie. En effet, de nombreuses légendes, dont les plus anciennes datent du VIIème siècle, font état de fantômes, lutins et autres elfes étranges qui tyrannisent les habitants ou au contraire les protègent. Figure emblématique, le lépréchaun notamment, petit lutin facétieux, est connu pour protéger les trésors magiques et pour faire apparaître des arcs-en-ciel, indicateurs de chaudrons remplis d’or. Pour l’appâter, rien ne vaut un ragoût de mouton ou une bonne part de gâteau, c’est un gourmand !

LA CULTURE

L’Irlande possède une littérature très forte et très appréciée, grâce à des auteurs à la renommée internationale comme Jonathan Swift, auteur des Voyages de Gulliver, Samuel Beckett ou encore James Joyce, souvent considéré comme le plus grand auteur de tout le XXème siècle. La musique avec le célèbre groupe U2 et les Cranberries ou encore le cinéma sont également à l’honneur. Nombreux sont les réalisateurs à avoir mis l’Irlande en avant, que ce soit pour son histoire ou pour sa vie quotidienne. Le plus célèbre d'entre eux est Ken Loach. 

LES PUBS

Indissociable des traditions irlandaises, les pubs sont de véritables institutions au pays de la bière et du whisky. En effet l' Irlande est surtout celèbre pour son fameux whisky que l'on peut déguster pur, ou alors dans un de ces délicieux Irish coffees, composé d’un tiers de whisky et de deux tiers de café sucré et mélangé à de la crème fraîche. Mais la bière est également un véritable monument de la gastronomie irlandaise, et il est difficile de passer à côté de la Guinness lorsque l’on vient passer quelques jours sur l’île.

LA RELIGION

L'Irlande est un pays très religieux et très attaché à ses traditions. La majeure partie des Irlandais sont membres de l’Eglise d’Irlande, une ramification de l’Eglise d’Angleterre créée par Henri VIII. Beaucoup d’entre eux sont également membres des Eglises presbytériennes ou encore méthodistes. Cependant, dans le sud surtout, on note une influence très forte de l’Eglise catholique. Les Irlandais sont également encore proches de leurs anciennes coutumes païennes, et il n’est pas rare de voir dans les campagnes ou les petits villages, des rituels vieux de plusieurs siècles, afin de protéger les foyers ou les enfants.

Les indispensables

5° EN HIVER / 25° EN ETE
L'EURO
-1H HIVER ET ETE
LE GAELIQUE ET L'ANGLAIS
DUBLIN
IRISH STEW