Discovery

Malta, it is a pleasant climate, tourist infrastructures of high quality, impressive landscapes and buildings. The island of Malta gathers multiple cultural origins which you will find in architecture, painting and art Maltese. You will be able to also benefit from the beaches for a balneal stay all carefully. Composed of 8 islands, including one principal which bears its name, the archipelago of Malta bathes the Mediterranean on the open sea, with a hundred kilometers in the south of the sicilian coasts.

Identity

On this island where reign the sweet life, one discovers the traces of the various cultures which marked the population, with more than 350 churches or of the Baroque palaces. Thus, if the island is marked by the Occident in north, she therefore did not forget her Arab heritage of it, especially in her southernmost part. On the archipelago, one can also admire buildings among oldest of the world, which show all the ingeniousness of our ancestors. But the island of Malta is not the single site to be discovered. The islands of Gozo and Comino also accommodate travellers in search of calm and of serenity, in a paradisiac and delicious landscape.

One also leaves oneself carried by the festivities which mark the life of the island throughout the year. Here, the religion, but especially religious enthusiasm holds a significant portion in the life of the inhabitants, and it is not rare to see processions in honour of local saints in the streets of Valette or Mdina. Thus let you carry by this majestic island which knew to be raised of all the conquests, preserving its identity.

Culture & Traditions

THE RELIGION

97% of the Maltese population are of Catholic religion. This one influences much the daily life of the Malteses, since the abortion is always prohibited and the divorce, was accepted only in 2011. The religious enthusiasm of the inhabitants is visible everywhere on the island and each village does not hesitate to celebrate its saint throughout the year.

ARCHITECTURE

The island of Malta owes especially its cultural fame with its architecture and its many ruins. Prehistory with today, the island has many historical traces which point out the various influences that she knew with the wire of the centuries. Palaces, churches, fortifications, temples…, many are the vestiges of the golden age of Malta.

CRAFTS

The island is mainly famous for its crafts, which are expressed in weaving, blown glass, or even lace. Proud of its musical culture, Malta also makes live its folk heritage, very appreciated inhabitants, in particular thanks to an annual competition of folksongs, which attracts large crowd with each edition.

BEACHES

Between sandy beaches gilded, blue rocks, lagoons and inland seas, the beaches do not miss in Malta. Some, more with the variation are worth all the same the turning for their peace. It is also possible for the nautical sporting-men to devote themselves to their activitées favorite. In north, the beaches are larger but very appraisals, for more calm return to the forefront of Malta.

Essential

15° WINTER / 30° SUMMER
THE EURO
THE MALTESE AND THE ENGLISH
LA VALETTE
FENKATA

La découverte

Malte, c'est un climat agréable, des infrastructures touristiques de grande qualité, des paysages et des édifices impressionnants. L' île de Malte rassemble des origines culturelles multiples que vous retrouverez dans l'architecture, la peinture et l'art maltais. Vous pourrez également profiter des plages pour un séjour balnéaire tout en douceur. Composé de 8 îles, dont une principale qui porte son nom, l’archipel de Malte baigne en pleine mer Méditerranée, à une centaine de kilomètres au sud des côtes siciliennes.

Identité

Sur cette île où règne la douceur de vivre, on découvre les traces des différentes cultures qui ont marqué la population, avec plus de 350 églises ou encore des palais baroques. Ainsi, si l’île est marquée par l’Occident au nord, elle n’en a pas pour autant oublié son héritage arabe, surtout dans sa partie méridionale. Sur l’archipel, on peut également admirer des édifices parmi les plus vieux du monde, qui démontrent toute l’ingéniosité de nos ancêtres. Mais l'île de Malte n’est pas l’unique site à découvrir. Les îles de Gozo et de Comino accueillent également des voyageurs en quête de calme et de sérénité, dans un paysage paradisiaque et délicieux.

On se laisse également emporté par les festivités qui marquent la vie de l’île tout au long de l’année. Ici, la religion, mais surtout la ferveur religieuse tiennent une part importante dans la vie des habitants, et il n’est pas rare de voir des processions en l’honneur des saints locaux dans les rues de La Valette ou de Mdina. Laissez-vous donc emporter par cette île majestueuse qui a su se relever de toutes les conquêtes, conservant son identité.

Culture & Traditions

LA RELIGION

97 % de la population Maltaise est de religion catholique. Celle - ci influence beaucoup la vie quotidienne des Maltais, puisque l’avortement est toujours interdit et le divorce, n'a été accepté qu'en 2011. La ferveur religieuse des habitants est visible partout sur l'île et chaque village n’hésite pas à célébrer son saint tout au long de l'année.

L'ARCHITECTURE

L’île de Malte doit surtout sa renommée culturelle à son architecture et à ses nombreuses ruines . De la préhistoire à aujourd’hui, l’île possède de nombreuses traces historiques qui rappellent les différentes influences qu’elle a connues au fil des siècles. Palais, églises, fortifications, temples…, nombreux sont les vestiges de l’âge d’or de Malte.

L'ARTISANAT

L’île est principalement réputée pour son artisanat, qui s’exprime dans le tissage, le verre soufflé, ou bien encore la dentelle. Fière de sa culture musicale, Malte fait également vivre son patrimoine folklorique, très apprécié des habitants, notamment grâce à un concours annuel de chansons folkloriques, qui attire de grandes foules à chaque édition.

LES PLAGES

Entre plages de sable doré, rochers, lagons bleus et mers intérieures, les plages ne manquent à Malte. Certaines,plus à l'écart valent tout de même le détour pour leur tranquilité. Il est aussi possible pour les amateurs de sports nautiques de s'adonner à leurs activitées favorites. Au nord,les plages sont plus grandes mais très prisées, pour plus de calme rendez vous à la pointe de Malte.

Les indispensables

15° HIVER / 30° ETE
L'EURO
LE MALTAIS ET L'ANGLAIS
LA VALETTE
FENKATA

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes