Discovery

Portugal is a country where the good things in life are a rule of life. In spite of its Mediterranean airs, this old kingdom considered for its conquests and its explorers does not present any access on Mare Nostrum. Leave to the meeting the Atlantic in all its size. The violence of its winds works the landscapes of the ground, the generosity of its fauna nourishes its men whereas the rate of his flow levels the nautical sporting-men and of balneal stays. Let go by the Bohemian one at the time one weekend to Lisbon, to familiarize itself with the buildings in Oporto, or to take the sun on the beaches of Algarve, a travel to Portugal can be all that at the same time.

Identity

If Portugal is part, as well as Spain, of the Iberian peninsula, it does not have of it less its own cultural identity. Here, between small villages, sandy beaches gilded and castles, all breathes happiness to live and heat. One is quickly allured by the exceptional heritage this country which knew many invasions (Celtic, Roman, Visigoths, or Moors), growing rich by these many cultures. Located at the extreme south-west of the continent of Europe, and west of the Iberian peninsula, Portugal shares its border in the east with Spain.

Portugal is one of the oldest countries of all Europe, when one walks there, one immediately notices the many archaeological sites and other monuments of time which constantly point out the strong identity of Portugal to us. But if the cities, with the image of Lisbon or Oporto, abound in monuments and other charming lanes, the country also has an exceptional nature with the diversified landscapes: olive groves with the vines, via granitic cliffs, not an area of Portugal does not resemble another. Impossible to limit itself to a small area when one decides to leave to the conquest the country, it is all Portugal as a whole that it is necessary to learn how to like. But do not mislead you there, if the country has aspects of Mediterranean territory, it does not remain about it less entirely not turned towards the Atlantic and its power. Here, it is the ocean which dominates!

Culture & Traditions

THE FADO

If one must retain only one thing of the Portuguese culture, it is well the classical music of the country, celebrates it fado. Full with melancholy, this melody rocked the generations of Portuguese, animating all the streets of the country. This song of the saudade was imported Brazil, before rooting in the lanes of Lisbon, to become a true Portuguese creation.

CRAFTS

Portugal is also famous for its crafts, and more particularly for the art of the azulejos. These decorative earthenware squares are a tradition come from the Moors, who taught the techniques with the Portuguese of them. Still today manufactured, they embellish villas and lanes in all the country. Always alive, this art is also present in the subway of the capital, Lisbon, and it is not rare to see stations decorated with mural frescos.

GASTRONOMY

 

The simple and delicious Portuguese traditional gastronomy is very appreciated travellers, and mixes various elements which make its characteristic. Fond of delicacies of fishes, in particular of cod, the Portuguese also appreciate the pork, that they eat with all sauces. As regards desserts, how to pass beside the famous pastéis of nata, spécialitées typical of Lisbon. The Portuguese meals are often accompanied by wine, but it is Oporto which gains all the votes in Portugal and in the rest of the world.

THE RELIGION

As in much of country of the south of Europe, religious enthusiasm is with the honor in Portugal. Dominating, Catholicism gathers 95% of the Portuguese, and its Church is particularly respected in the country. Portugal is indeed the land of welcome of the one of the principal holy places of the world. The pilgrimage of Fatima, in Estrémadure, attracts each year of tens of thousands of people come from the whole world.

Essential

15° WINTER / 30° SUMMER
THE EURO
-1H
PORTUGUESE
LISBONNE
BACALHAU

Form your trip

The stages

La découverte

Le Portugal est un un pays où le bon vivre est une règle de vie. Malgré ses airs méditerranéens, cet ancien royaume réputé pour ses conquêtes et ses explorateurs ne présente aucun accès sur la Mare Nostrum. Partez à la rencontre de l’Atlantique dans toute sa grandeur. La violence de ses vents façonne les paysages de la terre, la générosité de sa faune nourrit ses hommes alors que la cadence de son flux régale les amateurs de sports nautiques et de séjours balnéaires. Laissez vous porter par la bohème lors d’un week-end à Lisbonne, se familiariser avec les locaux à Porto, ou prendre le soleil sur les plages d’Algarve, un voyage au Portugal peut être tout cela à la fois.

Identité

Si le Portugal fait partie, au même titre que l’Espagne, de la Péninsule Ibérique, il n’en possède pas moins sa propre identité culturelle. Ici, entre petits villages, plages de sable doré et châteaux, tout respire le bonheur de vivre et la chaleur. On est rapidement séduit par le patrimoine exceptionnel de ce pays qui a connu de nombreuses invasions (Celtes, Romaines, Wisigoths, ou Maures), s’enrichissant de ces nombreuses cultures. Situé à l’extrême sud-ouest du continent européen, et à l’ouest de la péninsule ibérique, le Portugal partage sa frontière à l’est avec l’Espagne.

Le Portugal est l’un des plus vieux pays de toute l’Europe, lorsqu’on s’y promène, on remarque tout de suite les nombreux sites archéologiques et autres monuments d’époque qui nous rappellent à tout moment la forte identité du Portugal. Mais si les villes, à l’image de Lisbonne ou Porto, regorgent de monuments et autres ruelles charmantes, le pays possède également une nature exceptionnelle aux paysages diversifiés : des oliveraies aux vignes, en passant par les falaises granitiques, pas une région du Portugal ne ressemble à une autre. Impossible de se limiter à une petite région lorsqu’on se décide à partir à la conquête du pays, c’est tout le Portugal dans son ensemble qu’il faut apprendre à aimer. Mais ne vous y trompez pas, si le pays a des aspects de territoire méditerranéen, il n’en reste pas moins entièrement tourné vers l’Atlantique et sa puissance. Ici, c’est l’océan qui domine !

Culture & Traditions

LE FADO

Si l’on doit retenir une seule chose de la culture portugaise, c’est bien la grande musique du pays, le célèbre fado. Pleine de mélancolie, cette mélodie a bercé des générations de Portugais, animant toutes les rues du pays. Ce chant de la saudade a été importé du Brésil, avant de s’enraciner dans les ruelles de Lisbonne, pour devenir une vraie création portugaise. 

L'ARTISANAT

Le Portugal est également célèbre pour son artisanat, et plus particulièrement pour l’art des azulejos. Ces carreaux de faïence décoratifs sont une tradition venue des Maures, qui en enseignèrent les techniques aux Portugais. Encore fabriqués aujourd’hui, ils embellissent villas et ruelles dans tout le pays. Toujours vivant, cet art est également présent dans le métro de la capitale, Lisbonne, et il n’est pas rare de voir des stations décorées avec des fresques murales.

LA GASTRONOMIE

Simple et délicieuse  la gastronomie traditionnelle portugaise est très appréciée des voyageurs, et mélange divers éléments qui font sa particularité. Friands de poissons, notamment de morue, les Portugais apprécient également la viande de porc, qu' ils mangent à toutes les sauces. Coté dessert, comment passer à côté des fameux pastéis de nata, spécialitées typiques de Lisbonne. Les repas portugais sont souvent accompagnés de vin, mais c’est le porto qui remporte tous les suffrages au Portugal et dans le reste du monde. 

LA RELIGION

Comme dans beaucoup de pays du sud de l’Europe, la ferveur religieuse est à l’honneur au Portugal. Dominant, le Catholicisme rassemble 95 % des Portugais, et son Eglise est particulièrement respectée dans le pays. Le Portugal est en effet la terre d’accueil de l’un des principaux lieux saints du monde. Le pèlerinage de Fatima, en Estrémadure, attire chaque année des dizaines de milliers de personnes venues du monde entier.

Les indispensables

15° HIVER / 30° ETE
L'EURO
-1H
LE PORTUGAIS
LISBONNE
BACALHAU

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes