SAFARI LIFE SIZE

Discovery

Between arid grounds and marshy zones, Botswana has very diverse landscapes whose wild beauty will not leave you insensitive. Add to that a rich history and developed crafts and you will understand quickly why it is essential to visit this country. The capital, Gaborone, is the opportunity for your first contact with the animals in the surrounding nature reserves and to discover the ethnic crafts. Botswana is a democratic country with many luxurious lodges in the nature and truly seems to invite the travellers in search of calm and of big spaces. The amateurs of safari will find in the reserves such as the Chobe reserves, the flagships of the African wildlife. This fauna is discovered by 4x4 but it is also possible to trek in the neighbouring bush revealing some ancestral paintings. Botswana, offers amazing possibilities to discover numerous species of animals and a luxuritant flora in its Kalahari Desert and in the the delta of Okavango. Trust the knowledge of OR'NORMES to lead you through the magic of these landscapes.

Identity

Botswana is located in Southern Africa. It is surrounded by Namibia in the west, Zambia in the north, Zimbabwe in the North-East and South Africa in the south and south-east. Tswana (or Setswana) forms the majority of the population (79%). Kalanga (11%) and Basarwa (3%) are the two other principal ethnic groups. The rest of the population is composed of various ethnic groups of which Kgalagadi and the White. The principal religion is Christianity with more than 71% believers even if the majority are not practitioners. Despite the strong presence of Christianity, the traditional beliefs are still very present and this has repercussions on the lifestyle of certain inhabitants.

Botswana holds its name of the principal ethnic group of the country, “Tswanas”. This country is a safe and comfortable destination. Its people are proud of their roots, smiling and always accessible. The 2,021,000 inhabitants live in a stunning environment where one can enjoy many different activities (safaris, excursions…)

Culture & Traditions

CRAFTS

In terms of crafts, one of the specialities is the use of the mokolan palm tree to make traditional braided baskets. These are customised by using natural dyeing and can become real work of art. The mopane is used to make jewellery and to carve out sculptures of animals. In Botswana, pottery is an art which is transmitted from mother to daughter except in the Mbukushus tribe, where the pottery is men’s business.

GASTRONOMY

The worms of mopane, which are caterpillars emptied and cooked in hot ash are one of the traditional dishes you might get offered. It can also be eaten raw. More accessible, the mealie meal or PAP is made of mashed potatoes of cornstarch, and the mabele - a type of polenta. You will more easily appreciate the many tropical fruits such as the marula and the melons tsama or the walnut mongongo which resembles a cashew.

DANCE

For the inhabitants of Botswana, each dance tells a story and the the rhythm follows the songs of women. If you are lucky enough to attend Boma (meeting of the members of the villages), you will see that the dance becomes a trance more than a game.

THE RITE OF PASSAGE

The San people had as a tradition to mark the passage of one man to adulthood by a ritual. At 14 years old, the young motswana has to go deep in the bush and only return once he has killed an antelope. The more imposing the antelope was, the more respect would the young get. Today this ritual is a time to share and enjoy each other’s company around a meal between men.

Essential

Despite its main desert-like aspect, Botswana also has a rather important rainy season. The country enjoys a changing climate with hot and sunny winters during the day and fresh nights. The rest of the season, time is rather wet and hot. The best period is spread out from June until beginning of July as well as the second fortnight of September. 

  

21° - 25° WINTER / 30° - 35° SUMMER
Pula
+1
ENGLISH / Setswana
Gaborone
bogobe

Form your trip

The stages

A travel in Botswana will make you feel alive, thanks to the splendour of the sites you will discover and the vastness of the territory still very much owned by nature. Between arid grounds and marshy zones, Botswana has very varied landscapes whose wild beauty will not leave you insensitive. Add to that a rich history and developed crafts and you will understand quickly why it is essential to go in this country. Botswana is an ideal destination for a luxury Safari.

SAFARI GRANDEUR NATURE

La découverte

Entre terres arides et zones marécageuses, le Botswana dispose de paysages très divers dont la beauté sauvage ne vous laissera pas insensible. Ajoutez à cela une riche histoire et un artisanat développé et vous comprendrez vite pourquoi il est essentiel de se rendre dans ce pays. La capitale, Gaborone, est l’occasion d’avoir un premier contact avec les animaux dans les réserves naturelles environnantes et de découvrir l’artisanat ethnique. Pays démocratique où fleurissent les lodges luxueux intégrés au cœur de la nature, le Botswana semble véritablement inviter les voyageurs en quête de calme et de grands espaces. Les amateurs de safari y trouveront, dans des réserves comme celle de Chobe, les fleurons de la faune africaine. Cette faune s’observe depuis un 4x4 mais il est possible d’effectuer des randonnées dans la brousse avoisinante afin de partir à la découverte de peintures ancestrales. Avec le désert du Kalahari et le delta de l’Okavango, le Botswana offre à ceux qui s’y rendent des possibilités inouïes pour découvrir de nombreuses espèces animales ainsi qu’une flore luxuriante. Faites appel aux connaissances d’Or’Normes pour vous conduire à travers la magie de ces paysages. 

Identité

Le Botswana est situé en Afrique australe. Il est entouré par la Namibie à l’ouest, la Zambie au nord, le Zimbabwe au nord-est et l’Afrique du Sud au sud et sud-est. Les Tswana (ou Setswana) forment la grande majorité de la population (79%). Les Kalanga (11%) et Basarwa (3%) sont les deux autres ethnies principales. Le reste de la population est composé de différentes ethnies dont les Kgalagadi et des Blancs. La religion principale est le Christianisme avec plus de 71% de croyants même si la majorité ne sont pas pratiquants. Malgré la forte présence du Christianisme, les croyances traditionnelles sont encore largement présentes, ce qui a des répercussions sur le mode de vie de certains habitants. 

Le Botswana tient son nom de l'ethnie principale du pays, " les Tswanas". Ce pays est une destination sûre et tout confort. Son peuple est fier de ses racines, souriant et toujours accueillant. Ces 2 021 000 habitants évoluent dans un environnement époustoufflant où il est possible de faire une multitude d’activités (safaris, randonnées…)

Culture & Traditions

L'ARTISANAT

En termes d’artisanat, on remarque l’utilisation du palmier mokolane servant à la fabrication de paniers traditionnels tressés. Ces derniers sont personnalisés avec des teintures naturelles devenant alors de réelles œuvres d’art. Le mopane est lui utilisé pour confectionner des bijoux et réaliser des sculptures d’animaux. Au Botswana, la poterie est un art qui se transmet de mère en fille sauf chez les Mbukushus où la poterie est l’affaire des hommes.

LA GASTRONOMIE

Dans la nourriture traditionnelle, vous trouverez dans votre assiette des vers de mopane, qui sont des chenilles vidées et cuites dans la cendre chaude. On peut également la consommer crue. Plus accessible, le mealie meal ou pap est une purée de farine de maïs, et le mabele une sorte de polenta. Vous apprécierez plus facilement les nombreux fruits tropicaux comme les fruits marula et les melons tsama ou encore la noix mongongo qui ressemble à une noix de cajou.

LA DANSE

Pour les habitants du Botswana, chaque danse raconte une histoire et est rythmée par le chant des femmes. Si vous avez la chance d'assister au Boma ( réunion des membres du villages), vous pourrez voir que la danse devient plus une transe qu'un jeu.

LE RITE DE PASSAGE

Le peuple San avait pour tradition de marquer le passage d'un homme à l'âge adulte par un rituel. A l'âge de 14 ans, le jeune Botswanais devait partir seul au milieu de la brousse et revenir une fois qu'il avait chassé une antilope. Plus l'antilope était imposante, plus le jeune homme était respecté en tant qu'homme. Aujourd'hui ce passage constitue seulement un moment de partage et de convivialité autour d'un repas entre hommes.

Les indispensables

Malgré sa forte composition désertique, le Botswana connaît une saison des pluies assez importante. Le pays bénéficie donc d’un climat variable avec des hivers chauds et ensoleillés la journée et des nuits fraîches. Le reste de la saison, le temps est plutôt humide et chaud. La meilleure période s’étale de juin à début juillet ainsi que la seconde quinzaine de septembre.

 

21° - 25° HIVER / 30° - 35° ÉTÉ
Le Pula
+1
Anglais / Setswana
Gaborone
Le bogobe

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes

Un voyage au Bostwana vous procurera des sensations fortes grâce à la splendeur des sites que vous allez voir et l'immensité du territoire encore très livré à la nature. Entre terres arides et zones marécageuses, le Botswana dispose de paysages très variés dont la beauté sauvage ne vous laissera pas insensible. Ajoutez à cela une riche histoire et un artisanat développé et vous comprendrez vite pourquoi il est essentiel de se rendre dans ce pays. Le Botswana est une destination idéale pour un Safari de luxe.