Discovery

It is easy to understand why Namibia is one of the cradles of Humanity. The life is peaceful here and the environment, although quite dry, invites the traveller to go through the origins of time. Traces of our ancestors are visible here, in the caves of Twyfelfontein, and through the San culture, descendants of the first men which remained rich and intact. A meeting with the Himba people, in a decor of colour ochre and grass, also represents a unique experience. Abounding in natural treasures, the country offers a a wide range of landscapes conquering even the more sceptic visitor. From the ocean of sand dunes from the Namib desert to the Fish River Canyon and a flora among the most diverse of Africa, will surely fascinate the nature lovers and explorers during the safaris and amazing excursions. From the Colony of sea lions in the Cape Cross Seal Reserve to the herds of wildebeests crossing the National Etosha Park among the lions and the birds, Namibia is indeed a key destination to observe the wild life. Namibia is also a place of isolation where travellers appreciate to rest and find themselves contemplating landscapes with no human presence as far as the eye can see.

Identity

The presence of Man in Namibia goes back a long time ago. Traces of camping and bones indicate that the Homo erectus was hunting the ancestor of the elephant about 750,000 years ago. Following the development of a community of hunters-gatherers - the Boskop - men tried to settle in grottoes and caves in South Namibia around 8000 before JC, in particular in the caves of Twyfelfontein and Brandberg. The first inhabitants of Southern Africa seem to be San, ancestors of the Boskop, who knew how to adapt to the hard geographical conditions of these places. The San gradually turned into a sedentary population from the moment they mastered agriculture techniques and organised their community around the livestock enclosure. At the 16th century, the Herero, African population belonging to the Bantu linguistic group, settled in the North and the West of the country. Because of their big presence, they imposed themselves on the local tribes to enjoy the best crop and resources. The first Europeans set foot for the first time in Namibia in 1486 with the arrival of the Portuguese sailor Diogo Cao. But it is only from the 17th century that the Dutch sailors started to explore the deserted coast and go inland.

With the start of First World War, the British pushed the South-Africans to invade Namibia, forcing the Germans to leave the Southern African territory in 1915. The treaty of Versailles officialised the withdrawal of Germany from its colonies and Namibia passed under South-African administrative control. The South-African government strengthened thereafter its presence in the country and started to go beyond its administration rights by redistributing the country’s farmland, therefore going against the will of the United Nations. Recently made independent, Namibia is today very opened to the world and has developed the touristic infrastructures.

Culture & Traditions

HIMBA

The region of Kaokoveld located in the North west end of Namibia has remained untouched and only a few tracks cross this region. It is the kingdom of Himba, a nomadic group who live of farming and have the particular characteristic of applying an ochre coloured mixture on their skin to protect themselves from the sun.

SOSSUSVLEI

Sossusvlei and its ocean of sand dunes of more than 30,000 km2 represent a unique experience for the travellers. In the middle of one of the driest ecosystems of planet, you will be able to contemplate this landscape constantly evolving with the wind. The place with its dunes as high as 300 metres high reveals magnificent colour especially after dawn.

SKELETON COAST

This littoral, almost unreal where the desert is thrown directly in the ocean bears this lugubrious name because of many boats which ventured too near as of banks and were failed in sand. Their wrecks strewing the beaches take part in the character of this area which is one of most inhospitable in the world. However this area is to be seen at least once in its life, an incredible experiment.

THE DAMARALAND

The area of Damaraland is made up of high plateaus and a wild nature which profit from many sources and rivers which bead there. It is also a territory on which can still evolve together and freely of the animals like the zebras, the giraffes, the antelopes, elephants and rhinoceros, demanding almost the visitor to be melted in this universe panting the time of a safari. Incredible fact, it is the only place in the world where for unexplainable reasons of the elephants succeeded in adapting to the life in the desert.

Essential

Overall three seasons ago in Namibia: one hot period and dries from October to December, a hot period but wetter from January to April and a period a little colder but dries from May to September. The variations in temperatures are very important, being able to reach 40° in summer and to go down to 0° in winter.

10-15° WINTER / 35° SUMMER
THE Namibian Dollar
+1 WINTER
ENGLISH
WINDHOEK
THE OSHIFIMA

Form your trip

The stages

A travel in Namibia will bring you in the heart of the cradle of Humanity. You will have the possibility of carrying out incredible safaris where the diversity of fauna and flora will leave you without voice. It is a travel which one could describe as return to the sources so much the traces of the cultures ancestral and thousand-year-old are still present. Leave to the meeting the Himba people and their culture. In Namibia, all the landscapes are offered to you: sea with the desert via Fish To rivet Canyon, one of largest the canyon in the world, Namibia will offer a multiplicity of surprises to you.

La découverte

On comprend rapidement pourquoi la Namibie est un des berceaux de l’Humanité. La vie y est en effet paisible et l’environnement, bien que sec, semble inviter le voyageur à un retour aux origines. De nombreuses traces de nos ancêtres y sont visibles, notamment dans les grottes de Twyfelfontein, et la culture des San, descendants des premiers hommes, est restée riche et intacte. Une rencontre avec le peuple Himba, couvert d’un mélange d’ocre et d’herbes, représente également une expérience unique. Débordant de trésors naturels, le pays offre à ses visiteurs une multitude de décors différents qui fera rêver jusqu’au plus désenchanté des visiteurs. De la mer de dunes du désert du Namib aux Fish River Canyon vivent une faune et une flore parmi les plus diversifiées d’Afrique qui fascineront tant les amoureux de la nature que les explorateurs lors de safaris et de randonnées étourdissantes. De la colonie d’otaries de la Cape Cross Seal Reserve aux troupeaux de gnous qui traversent l’Etosha National Park au milieu des lions et des oiseaux, la Namibie est en effet une destination phare pour observer la vie sauvage. La Namibie est également un lieu d’isolement où les voyageurs apprécient de se reposer et de se retrouver en contemplant des paysages dénués de présence humaine à perte de vue.

Identité

La présence de l’Homme en Namibie remonte à la nuit des temps. Des traces de campements et d’os indiquent en effet que l’Homo erectus y chassait déjà l’ancêtre de l’éléphant il y a 750 000 ans. Après le développement d’une communauté de chasseurs-cueilleurs, les Boskop, les hommes ont tenté de s’installer dans des grottes et cavernes du Sud namibien vers 8000 avant JC, notamment celles de Twyfelfontein et Brandberg. Les premiers habitants de l’Afrique australe semblent être les San, descendant des Boskop, qui ont su s’adapter aux conditions géographiques rudes des lieux. Les San se sont progressivement sédentarisés jusqu’à maîtriser les techniques de l’agriculture et ont ensuite bâti leur société autour de l’élevage en enclos. Au XVIème siècle, les Herero, peuple africain du groupe linguistique bantou, se sont installés dans le Nord et l’Ouest du pays. De par leur plus grand nombre, ils se sont imposés auprès des tribus locales pour profiter des meilleurs pâturages et des meilleures sources. Les premiers Européens mirent un pied la première fois en Namibie en 1486 avec la venue du navigateur portugais Diogo Cao. Mais ce n’est qu’à partir du XVIIème siècle que des marins hollandais commencèrent à explorer la côte désertique et à pénétrer dans les terres. 

Avec le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, les Britanniques ont poussé les Sud-Africains à envahir la Namibie, forçant les Allemands à quitter les terres de l’Afrique australe en 1915. Le traité de Versailles officialisa l’abandon par l’Allemagne de ses colonies et la Namibie passa sous contrôle administratif sud-africain. Le gouvernement sud-africain amplifia par la suite sa présence dans le pays et outrepassa ses droits d’administration en décidant de la répartition des terres cultivables du pays, allant à l’encontre de la volonté des Nations Unies. Nouvellement indépendante, la Namibie s’est aujourd’hui ouverte au monde et a développé les infrastructures nécessaires à l’accueil de voyageurs étrangers.

Culture & Traditions

LES HIMBA

La région du Kaokoveld, à l’extrémité Nord Ouest de la Namibie, est une terre restée sauvage que seules quelques pistes de sable traversent. C’est le royaume des Himba, peuple nomade vivant de l’élevage qui a la particularité d’appliquer sur leur peau un mélange d’ocre sur la peau pour se protéger du soleil. 

SOSSUSVLEI

Sossusvlei et sa mer de dunes de plus de 30 000 km2 sont une réelle expérience pour les voyageurs. Au milieu d’un des écosystèmes les plus secs de la planète, vous pourrez contempler ce paysage que le vent fait constamment évoluer. Avec des dunes de plus de 300 mètres de haut, le site présente des couleurs sublimes juste après l’aube.

SKELETON COAST

Ce littoral, presque irréel où le désert se jette directement dans l'océan porte ce nom lugubre à cause des nombreux bateaux qui se sont aventurés trop près des rives et se sont échoués dans le sable. Leurs épaves jonchant les plages participent au caractère de cette région qui est une des plus inhospitalières au monde. Cependant cette région est à voir au moins une fois dans sa vie, une expérience incroyable.

LE DAMARALAND

La région du Damaraland est composée de hauts plateaux et d’une nature sauvage qui bénéficie de nombreuses sources et rivières qui y perlent. C’est également un territoire sur lequel peuvent encore évoluer ensemble et librement des animaux comme les zèbres, les girafes, les antilopes, éléphants et rhinocéros, astreignant presque le visiteur à se fondre dans cet univers haletant le temps d’un safari. Fait incroyable, c'est le seul endroit au monde où pour des raisons inexplicables des éléphants ont réussi à s'adapter à la vie dans le désert.

Les indispensables

Il y a globalement trois saisons en Namibie : une période chaude et sèche d’octobre à décembre, une période chaude mais plus humide de janvier à avril et une période un peu plus froide mais sèche de mai à septembre. Les écarts de températures sont très importants, pouvant atteindre 40° en été et descendre à 0° en hiver.

10-15° HIVER / 35° ÉTÉ
LE DOLLAR NAMIBIEN
+1 HIVER
ANGLAIS
WINDHOEK
L'OSHIFIMA

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes

Un voyage en Namibie vous amènera dans le coeur du berceau de l'Humanité. Vous aurez la possibilité d'effectuer des safaris incroyables où la diversité de la faune et de la flore vous laissera sans voix. C'est un voyage que l'on pourrait qualifier de retour aux sources tant les traces des cultures ancestrales et millénaires sont encore présentes. Partez à la rencontre du peuple Himba et de leur culture. En Namibie, tous les paysages s'offrent à vous : de la mer au désert en passant par le Fish River Canyon, un des plus grands canyon au monde, la Namibie vous offrira une multitude de surprises.