Discovery

Zimbabwe is a land full of legends and will charm the ones in love with nature: starting with the unavoidable Victoria Falls which will astonish even the most experienced travellers. The many national parks of the country including Hwange national park or the Mana Pools national park registered with the World heritage of UNESCO will give you the opportunity to admire more than 400 species of animal in breathtaking landscapes.

Identity

Zimbabwe abounds in cultural and historical treasures such as the archaeological site of Great Zimbabwe, legendary city with many unique vestiges radiating throughout Africa. The colonial time also left a big mark in the culture of the country which the travellers will be able to observe in the capital - Harare - or the city centre of Bulawayo.

The Zimbabwean culture is rich and old and expresses itslef in the cave paintings located in the mountain range of Matobo. Zimbabwean art is, apart from being exposed in the museums of the country, recognized internationally.

Culture & Traditions

THE VICTORIA FALLS

Listed as world heritage of UNESCO, the Victoria Falls were named in honour to the Queen of England. More than 108 meters high, they extend on 1.7 km length.

WILDLIFE

Zimbabwe is famous for its many national parks where you will be able to admire many wild animals including the famous “Big Five”.  The various landscapes make it possible to the travellers to carry out safaris in various manners: by foot, by 4X4, by boat or by horse.

ACTIVITIES

Zimbabwe offers a wide range of activities such as kayak on the river, helicopter ride, safaris, cultural visits, horse riding, cruise on boats and much more…

ETHNIC GROUPS

The country is mainly inhabited by two African ethnic groups which are the Shona and the Ndébélé. The Shona are the descendants of the colonists speaking the Bantu language, they live in traditional huts made of soil and thatch. As for the Ndébélé, they devote their life to farming and breeding. Moreover they believe in a supreme being called Unkulu ukulu as well as in life after death.

Essential

The altitude of Zimbabwe softens its climate and the rainy season, which is corresponds to the hot season going from November to April. The dry season goes from April to November. June is the ideal month to observe the local wildlife.

15° WINTER / 25° SUMMER
AMERICAN DOLLAR
+1 WINTER
ENGLISH / SHONA
HARARE
SADZA / TSUNGA

Form your trip

The stages

A travel to Zimbabwe will take you out of you comfort zone and you will discover an incredible and unimaginable fauna and a flora. Succumb to the temptations of a safari in Zimbabwe, come and meet the crocodiles and hippopotamuses, elephants and buffaloes and create some unbeatable memories. Listed as a world heritage by UNESCO, you will love the Mana Pool Park. Finally, go and see the Victoria Falls which will not leave you indifferent.

La découverte

Terre pleine de légendes, le Zimbabwe ravira les amoureux de la nature. A commencer par les immanquables chutes Victoria qui laisseront abasourdis les voyageurs les plus chevronnés. Les nombreux parcs nationaux du pays, dont le parc national Hwange ou le parc national Mana Pools inscrits au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO vous offriront la chance d’admirer plus de 400 espèces animales au sein de paysages à couper le souffle.

Identité

Le Zimbabwe regorge de trésors culturels et historiques tels que le site archéologique du Great Zimbabwe, cité de légende au rayonnement sans égal en Afrique qui a laissé des vestiges uniques sur le continent. L’époque coloniale a également fortement marquée la culture du pays et les voyageurs pourront en observer les nombreuses traces dans la capitale Harare ou dans le centre vile de Bulawayo. 

La culture zimbabwéenne est riche et ancienne, comme en témoignent les peintures rupestres visibles dans la chaîne montagneuse des Matobo. L’art zimbabwéen est désormais, en plus d’être exposé dans les musées du pays, reconnu dans le monde entier.

Culture & Traditions

LES CHUTES VICTORIA

Classées au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, les chutes Victoria ont été nommées ainsi en l’honneur de la Reine d’Angleterre. Hautes de plus de 108 mètres, elles s’étendent sur 1,7 km de long. La « piscine du Diable », permet de se baigner tout en étant au plus près du bord des chutes.

LA FAUNE SAUVAGE

Le Zimbabwe est réputé pour ses nombreux parcs nationaux où vous pourrez admirer de nombreux animaux sauvages dont les fameux "Big Five".
Les différents reliefs permettent aux voyageurs d'effectuer des safaris de différentes manières. A pied, en 4X4, en bateau ou encore à dos de cheval.

ACTIVITÉS

Le Zimbabwe offre aux voyageurs un large éventail d’activités telles que du kayak sur le fleuve, des tours d’hélicoptère, des safaris, des visites culturelles, des balades à cheval, des croisières en bateaux et bien plus...

LES ETHNIES

Le pays est principalement partagé par deux ethnies africaines qui sont les Shona et les Ndébélé. Les Shona sont des descendants de colons de langue bantoue, ils vivent dans des huttes traditionnelles faites à base de terre et de chaume. Quant aux Ndébélé, ils consacrent leur vie à la culture et à l'élevage. De plus ils croient en un être suprême appelé Unkulu ukulu ainsi qu'à la vie après la mort. 

Les indispensables

La position élevée du Zimbabwe adoucit son climat, la saison des pluies, qui est aussi la saison chaude s'étend de Novembre à Avril. Concernant la saison sèche, elle s'étend d’Avril à Novembre. De plus, le mois de juin est idéal pour observer la faune locale.

15° HIVER / 25° ÉTÉ
DOLLAR AMÉRICAIN
+1 HIVER
ANGLAIS / SHONA
HARARE
SADZA / TSUNGA

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes

Un voyage au Zimbabwe vous emmènera hors de vos habitudes et vous fera découvrir une faune et une flore incroyables et inimaginables. Laissez vous tenter par un safari au Zimbabwe à la rencontre des crocodiles et des hippopotames, des éléphants et des buffles pour vous laisser des souvenirs indétronables. Classé au patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco, le parc de Mana Pools saura vous ravir. Enfin, passez par les chutes Victoria qui ne pourront en aucun cas vous laisser de marbre.