GROUND OF ICE AND TRADITIONS

Discovery

Destination as attractive as rare, Greenland will charm the amateurs of big spaces and wild nature. Privileged territory of the Arctic animals, “Terre Verte” proposes landscapes various and varied to you absolutely except standards. Polar bears, white whales, boreal whales and Arctic foxes elected residence in this landscape encircled by the ice-barrier and the glaciers, which will leave you the possibility of going to their meeting at the time of your travel. You will be stunned by this immaculate white being spread out as far as the eye can see. Between adventures and meetings with Inuit the, many ones are the wealths of Greenland. Guaranteed escape!

Identity

If the image that we of Greenland east that of a distant region covered with ice, the nature of this country offers also his batch to us of greenery. The amateurs of excursions will be able to admire this constraste of colors and landscapes by traversing the country on both sides. The in love ones with the animals will be able to discover the famous boreal whales at the time of a croisère in the middle of icebergs. When with set on culture, they will appreciate outward journey with the meeting of the families Inuit living on the territory. In spite of the ambient cold, Greenlandic accommodates the travellers cordially. One should not then hesitate to share a hot drink with them to speak fishing season and drives out. A travel to Greenland with OR'NORMES, it is an experiment mixing efforts, passion and traditions.

This country of 2,166,086 km2 is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean and the Arctic Ocean. In spite of its proximity with Iceland, this territory belongs to the Kingdom of Denmark. The 57,728 inhabitants of the country live primarily on the fishing season and hunting. Mainly gathered in the Nuuk capital, the latter speak mainly Danish and Greenlandic.

Culture & Traditions

The first to have discovered this beautiful country are Inuit then the Vikings. The latter invited the country Greenland “Terre Verte” in order to convince the colonists to be installed on these grounds. At the 12th century, the Greenlandic Vikings recognize the King of Norway like their sovereign and this Scandinavian population disappears completely from the territory, leaving behind them always observable ruins. Following the disappearance of the Vikings, missionaries of the joint kingdom of Denmark-Norway arrive at Greenland and convert most Inuit with Christianity.

FISHING AND HUNTING

The skins of the animals are used to manufacture clothing and the flesh to nourish the population. As known as the Greenlandic government “hunting is the heart of the heart and the Greenlandic culture… In a company such as Greenland, hunting with always be a survival lasting more than fifty years. Our identity is founded on hunting.”

HUSKIES

Having few roads on the territory, the sledge with dogs is means of transport except for whole. The traditions Inuit want that Greenlandic lives in perfect symbiosis with nature and the animals. The sledge with dogs makes it possible to be at the same time close to the animals, nature and the traditions. The hunters use much the sledge with dogs to leave to hunting. Moreover, each year a race of huskies is organized.

GASTRONOMY

The inhabitants of Greenland nourissent themselves primarily of their huntings and their peaches. Concerning the traditional dishes; we find in particular the stock of reindeers, of the meat dishes of bear and seals. Pancakes made containing flour, of leaven and seal blubber. There is also Akutaq, an ice made containing grass and bay, seal blubber. The kiviak, is prepared to him by filling a carcass with seal with penguins which one lets ferment several months.

NATURE

Being given that the inhabitants of Greenland nourish their own game, nature is for them paramount. Their fauna and their flora are extraordinary! One finds there in particular Arctic whales, white whales, foxes, reindeers, seals, musk oxen, penguins and much more… Between lakes, ocean, mountains, pastures, icebergs and glaciers the nature of Greenland is exceptional.

Essential

Climatic variations are made feel between the littoral and the inland. The relief also plays a determining role in the temperatures because of the wind which is engulfed violently in the valleys and refreshed considerably the temperature. In summer, these last are between 5° and 15° while in winter, the average is located between -20° and -25° with peaks with -40°.Le center and is of Greenland undergo only snow-covered precipitations, while on the west side can know scattered rains in summer.

5 - 15°C SUMMER / -30°C WINTER
Danish Krone
UTC -4/-3
GREENLANDIC / DANISH / ENGLISH
Nuuk
Kiviak

Form your trip

The stages

Discover Greenland from every angle while crossing the country of is in west without forgetting the astonishing south of the island. Traverse extraordinary landscapes made up of splendid fjords crossed by icebergs increasingly more impressive. Let you try by single experiments in keeping with the culture Inuit. Leave to drive out the small one like big game with a room before you to test with the control of a sledge with dogs. The south of Greenland, much greener than the rest of the island, kept the traces of the previous civilisations and will be the occasion to observe many wild animals like the imposing musky buffalo, the numerous species of birds and other seals.

LE GRÖENLAND 
TERRE DE GLACE ET DE TRADITIONS

La découverte

Destination aussi fascinante que rare, le Groenland ravira les amateurs de grands espaces et de nature sauvage. Territoire privilégié des animaux arctiques, la "Terre Verte" vous propose des paysages divers et variés absolument hors normes. Ours blancs, bélugas, baleines boréales et renards arctiques ont élus domicile dans ce paysage cerné par la banquise et les glaciers, ce qui vous laissera la possibilité d'aller à leur rencontre lors de votre voyage. Vous serez époustouflés par ce blanc immaculé s'étalant à perte de vue. Entre aventures et rencontres avec les Inuits, nombreuses sont les richesses du Groenland. Evasion garantie !

Identité

Si l'image que nous avons du Groenland est celle d'une contrée éloignée recouverte de glace, la nature de ce pays nous offre aussi son lot de verdure. Les amateurs de randonnées pourront admirer ce constraste de couleurs et de paysages en parcourant le pays de part et d'autre. Les amoureux des animaux pourront découvrir les fameuses baleines boréales lors d'une croisère au milieu d'icebergs. Quand aux férus de culture, ils apprécieront d'aller à la rencontre des familles Inuits habitant sur le territoire. Malgré le froid ambiant, les groenlandais accueillent les voyageurs chaleureusement. Il ne faut pas hésiter alors à partager une boisson chaude avec eux pour parler pêche et chasse. Un voyage au Groenland avec OR'NORMES, c'est une expérience mêlant efforts, passion et traditions. 

Ce pays de 2 166 086 km2 est bordé par l’Océan Atlantique et l’Océan Arctique. Malgré sa proximité avec l’Islande, ce territoire appartient au Royaume du Danemark. Les 57 728 habitants du pays vivent essentiellement de la pêche et de la chasse. Majoritairement regroupés dans la capitale Nuuk, ces derniers parlent principalement le danois et le groenlandais.

 

Culture & Traditions

 Les premiers à avoir découvert ce beau pays sont les Inuits puis les Vikings. Ces derniers ont appelé le pays Groenland "Terre Verte" afin de convaincre les colons de s'installer sur ces terres. Au XIIème siècle, les vikings groenlandais reconnaissent le Roi de Norvège comme leur souverain et cette population scandinave disparaît totalement du territoire, laissant derrière eux des ruines toujours observables. Suite à la disparition des Vikings, des missionnaires du royaume conjoint du Danemark-Norvège arrivent au Groenland et convertissent la plupart des Inuits au christianisme.

PÊCHE ET CHASSE

Les peaux des bêtes sont utilisées pour fabriquer les vêtements et la chair pour nourrir la population. Comme le dit le gouvernement groenlandais « la chasse est le cœur de l’âme et de la culture groenlandaise… Dans une société telle que le Groenland, la chasse à toujours été une survie durant plus de cinquante ans. Notre identité est fondée sur la chasse. »

CHIENS DE TRAINEAU

Ayant peu de routes sur le territoire, le traineau à chiens est un moyen de transport à part entière. Les traditions Inuits veulent que les groenlandais vivent en parfaite symbiose avec la nature et les animaux. Le traineau à chiens permet d’être à la fois proche des animaux, de la nature et des traditions. Les chasseurs utilisent beaucoup le traineau à chiens pour partir à la chasse. De plus, chaque année une course de chiens de traineau est organisée. 

LA GASTRONOMIE

Les habitants du Groenland se nourissent essentiellement de leurs chasses et de leurs pêches. Concernant les plats traditionnels ; nous retrouvons notamment le bouillon de rennes, des plats à base de viande d’ours et de phoques. Des galettes faites à base de farine, de levain et de graisse de phoque. Il y a aussi l’Akutaq, une glace faite à base de graisse de phoque, de baies et d’herbes. Le kiviak, lui est préparé en remplissant une carcasse de phoque avec des pingouins que l’on laisse fermenter plusieurs mois. 

LA NATURE

Etant donné que les habitants du Groenland se nourrissent de leurs propres gibiers, la nature est pour eux primordiale. Leur faune et leur flore sont extraordinaires ! On y trouve notamment des baleines, des bélugas, des renards arctiques, des rennes, des phoques, des bœufs musqués, des pingouins et bien plus… Entre lacs, océan, montagnes, pâturages, icebergs et glaciers la nature du Groenland est exceptionnelle. 

Les indispensables

Des variations climatiques se font ressentir entre le littoral et l’intérieur des terres. Le relief joue un rôle déterminant dans les températures également du fait du vent qui s’engouffre violemment dans les vallées et rafraîchie considérablement la température. En été, ces dernières se situent entre 5° et 15° tandis qu’en hiver, la moyenne se situe entre -20° et -25° avec des pics à -40°.Le centre et l’est du Groenland subissent uniquement des précipitations neigeuses, tandis que la côte ouest peut connaître des pluies éparses en été.

5 - 15°C été / -30°C Hiver
Couronne Danoise
UTC -4/-3
Groenlandais / Danois / Anglais
Nuuk
Le Kiviak

Composez votre voyage

Les étapes

Découvrez le Groenland sous tous ses angles en traversant le pays d’est en ouest sans oublier l’étonnant sud de l’île. Parcourez des paysages extraordinaires composés de magnifiques fjords traversés par des icebergs toujours plus impressionnants. Laissez-vous tenter par des expériences uniques en rapport avec la culture Inuit. Partez chasser le petit comme le gros gibier avec un local avant de vous essayer à la conduite d’un traineau à chiens. Le sud du Groenland, beaucoup plus vert que le reste de l’île, a gardé les traces des précédentes civilisations et sera l’occasion d’observer de nombreux animaux sauvages comme l’imposant buffle musqué, les nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux et autres phoques.