Discovery

Cyprus will transport you in the middle of the Byzantine and Hellenic civilisation. Mythology will accompany you throughout your stay in Cyprus, between Byzantine churches, orthodoxe monasteries and Greek vestiges. Its capital, Nicosie, are shared into two: the Greek side and its old working where many Byzantine churches preach, and the Turkish side and its Holy cathedral Sophie become mosque. A trip to Cyprus will dazzle you by the diversity of its landscapes, between mountains, countryside and sea.

Identity

Cyprus holds its name “island of the love” of an old legend according to which Aphrodite, goddess of the love, were born from scum in a point where the sea is thrown on rocks of the coast of Paphos. Cyprus is a sun ground which guarantees a total expatriation all the year with the great diversity of its landscapes. The mountains at the vertiginous tops are interlaced with sandy beaches ends, frays that and there of authentic rural landscapes. But to claim to appreciate the island in its totality, it is not enough to have done lot of mileage of Ayia Napa to Polishes, of Is in West. It is necessary to take the time to discover the treasures of which it abounds and to visit them one by one: old castles, stations of mountains, monasteries, forests.

Cyprus also has three sites classified with the World heritage of UNESCO: the Neolithic site of Choirokoitia, but also the area of Troodos and its painted churches, as well as the site of Paphos. Lastly, a travel to Cyprus, it is the warranty to get in touch with people cordial and smiling which never fail to testify his hospitality by offering a ouzo. Smiles and calms characterize these inhabitants in spite of the tensions which reign in their country divided into two.

Culture & Traditions

ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITES

Deep mixture between modernity and the past, the Cypriot culture is proud of a heritage of more than 9,000 years, whose traces are still visible today. Thus, the island abounds in Roman temples, mosaics and other frescos of the 15th century, which point out the many influences that she knew.

RELIGIONS

Two great religions occupy Cyprus today, and the religious demarcation is done by famous “the green line” which separates the island into two. On a side the inhabitants of North, close to Turkey, are mainly Sunni Muslims, and other, the Cypriot ones of the South, are especially of Greek orthodoxe confession.

GASTRONOMY

The Cypriot kitchen is a scientist mixes of all the Mediterranean gastronomies. It knew to take best each one of its neighbors, to make a tasty melting-pot of it. Everywhere in Cyprus, one can taste the delicious one mezzés, sets of Eastern entries, but also of the roast lamb “kleftiko”, without forgetting the Greek coffee, been useful with his marc, and of the ouzo, an alcohol scented with anise.

THE FOLKLORE

In Cyprus, the folklore in a very important place, with a strong repertoire of songs and other traditional dances. According to the part of the island, one approaches to the Greek culture or the Turkish culture, and one can admire many choreographies to the sound of violi and of the ludo, a lute with four double cords.

 

Essential

The Cypriot climate is of Mediterranean type dry and lenient all the year. Spring and the autumn can be a good compromise to profit from a strong sunning without suffering from heat. 

17° WINTER / 30°- 35° SUMMER
THE EURO
+ 1H
GREEK AND TURK
NICOSIE
LES MEZZES

La découverte

Chypre vous transportera au cœur de la civilisation byzantine et hellénique. La mythologie vous accompagnera tout au long de votre séjour à Chypre, entre églises byzantines, monastères orthodoxes et vestiges grecs. Sa capitale, Nicosie, se partage en deux : le côté grec et son vieux quartier où prônent de nombreuses églises byzantines, et le côté turc et sa cathédrale Sainte Sophie devenue mosquée. Un voyage à Chypre vous éblouira par la diversité de ses paysages, entre montagnes, campagne et mer. 

Identité

Chypre tient son appellation « île de l'amour » d'une vieille légende selon laquelle Aphrodite, déesse de l'amour, est née de l'écume en un point où la mer se jette sur des rochers de la côte de Paphos. Chypre est une terre de soleil qui garantit un dépaysement total toute l'année avec la grande diversité de ses paysages. Les montagnes aux sommets vertigineux s'entrelacent avec des plages de sables fins, mêlées çà et là de paysages ruraux authentiques. Mais pour prétendre apprécier l'île dans sa totalité, il ne suffit pas d'avoir fait la route d'Ayia Napa à Polis, d'Est en Ouest. Il faut prendre le temps de découvrir les trésors dont elle regorge et les visiter un par un : anciens châteaux, stations de montagnes, monastères, forêts.

 

Chypre possède également trois sites classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l'UNESCO : le site néolithique de Choirokoitia, mais aussi la région de Troodos et ses églises peintes, ainsi que le site de Paphos. Enfin, un voyage à Chypre, c’est la garantie de prendre contact avec un peuple chaleureux et souriant qui ne manque jamais de témoigner son hospitalité en offrant un ouzo. Sourires et calme caractérisent ces habitants malgré les tensions qui règnent dans leur pays scindé en deux. 

Culture & Traditions

LES SITES ARCHEOLOGIQUES

Profond mélange entre la modernité et le passé, la culture chypriote est fière d’un héritage de plus de 9 000 ans, dont les traces sont encore visibles aujourd’hui. Ainsi, l’île regorge de temples romains, de mosaïques et autres fresques du XVème siècle, qui rappellent les nombreuses influences qu’elle a connu.  

LES RELIGIONS

Deux grandes religions occupent Chypre aujourd’hui, et la démarcation religieuse se fait par la fameuse « ligne verte » qui sépare l’île en deux. D’un côté les habitants du Nord, proches de la Turquie, sont principalement des Musulmans sunnites, et de l’autre, les Chypriotes du Sud, sont surtout de confession orthodoxe grecque. 

LA GASTRONOMIE

La cuisine chypriote est un savant mélange de toutes les gastronomies méditerranéennes. Elle a su prendre le meilleur de chacun de ses voisins, pour en faire un savoureux melting-pot. Partout dans Chypre, on peut déguster de délicieux mezzés, assortiments d'entrées orientales, mais aussi de l’agneau rôti " kleftiko ", sans oublier le café grec, servi avec son marc, et de l'ouzo,un alcool parfumé à l'anis.

 

LE FOLKLORE

A Chypre, le folklore à une place très importante, avec un fort répertoire de chansons et autres danses traditionnelles. Selon la partie de l’île, on se rapproche de la culture grecque ou de la culture turque, et l’on peut admirer de nombreuses chorégraphies au son du violi et du ludo, un luth à quatre cordes doubles. 

 

Les indispensables

Le climat Chypriote est de type méditerranéen sec et clément toute l’année. Le printemps et l’automne peuvent être un bon compromis pour bénéficier d’un fort ensoleillement sans souffrir de la chaleur.

 

17° HIVER / 30°- 35° ETE
L'EURO
+ 1H
GREC ET TURC
NICOSIE
LES MEZZES